Vaxiviere storms to Sunday Hungaroring pole

Matthieu Vaxiviere took his third pole position of the Formula Renault 3.5 Series season for race two at the Hungaroring, just beating Saturday race one winner Egor Orudzhev.

The Frenchman, twice a winner in 2015 already after winning at Motorland Aragon and Spa-Francorchamps, set a best time of 1m29.221s in his Lotus, beating Orudzhev’s SMP Racing-backed Arden Motorsport machine by just 0.019s.

Malaysian driver Jazeman Jaafar was the best placed Fortec Motorsports entry in third, and will be joined on row two by Roberto Merhi, who made a number of fantastic overtaking manoeuvres for Pons Racing in race one.

Oliver Rowland will start fifth for Fortec ahead of Strakka Racing’s Gustav Malja, while Pietro Fantin of International Draco Racing starts seventh alongside the second Strakka of Tio Ellinas.

Tom Dillmann will start ninth for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, ahead of the leading DAMS entry of Red Bull-backed Dean Stoneman.

Roy Nissany caused a mid-session red flag when he stopped his Tech 1 Racing machine between turns six and seven, and as a result will start the second race of the weekend from the back row of the grid, alongside Draco Racing’s Bruno Bonifacio.

Hungaroring Race 2 Qualifying Result

19Matthieu VaxiviereFRALotus1m29.221s
26Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1m29.240s
33Jazeman JaafarMALFortec Motorsports1m29.338s
440Roberto MerhiESPPons Racing1m29.693s
54Oliver RowlandGBRFortec Motorsports1m29.779s
612Gustav MaljaSWEStrakka Racing1m29.815s
719Pietro FantinBRZInternational Draco Racing1m29.884s
811Tio EllinasCYPStrakka Racing1m30.084s
926Tom DillmannFRAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m30.099s
102Dean StonemanGBRDAMS1m30.187s
1125Sean GelaelINOJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m30.203s
125Nicholas LatifiCANArden Motorsport1m30.287s
131Nyck de VriesNEDDAMS1m30.391s
1410Meindert van BuurenNEDLotus1m30.423s
1516Beitske VisserNEDAVF1m30.439s
1639Philo Paz Patric ArmandINOPons Racing1m30.548s
1715Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1m30.559s
1818Aurelien PanisFRATech 1 Racing1m30.638s
1920Bruno BonifacioBRZInternational Draco Racing1m30.836s
2017Roy NissanyISRTech 1 Racing1m47.511s