Zarco Beats Rabat to Assen Moto2 Pole

Johann Zarco has set the stage for another shootout with Tito Rabat after winning their private battle over pole position at Assen. The two were in a class of their own with no other riders featuring in the fight for pole, Sam Lowes ending up a distant third and the only other rider within a second of the fastest time.

Once the lap times settled down early in qualifying, it quickly became apparent that only two riders had a realistic shot at pole position with Rabat going quickest on a 1:37.360, only to be usurped by Zarco with a lap 0.134s faster. Moments later, Rabat became the first rider to break into the 1:36s and by the halfway stage, the reigning champion had a half second cushion at the top.

With Marc Marquez’s Moto2 lap record already obliterated, Rabat’s time initially looked unbeatable but with sixteen minutes remaining, Zarco claimed the record for himself with a 1:36.346, three tenths clear of the Marc VDS rider. In the closing stages, Lowes finally began to show his hand, going under the old circuit record himself, but the Briton’s 1:36.878 was only good enough for a spot on the outside of the front row.

Simone Corsi starts fourth ahead of Jonas Folger with Xavier Simeon sixth quickest for Gresini. Alex Rins will go in search of his maiden Moto2 win from seventh on the grid with Thomas Luthi and Lorenzo Baldassarri with Takaaki Nakagami completing the top ten.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
15. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport1:36.346
21. Tito RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:36.633
322. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:36.878
43. Simone CorsiKalexForward Racing1:37.393
594. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team1:37.434
619. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:37.509
740. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:37.543
812. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten1:37.585
97. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Racing1:37.591
1030. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:37.598
1149. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team1:37.604
1260. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:37.632
1373. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:37.638
1411. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:37.650
1536. Mika KallioKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:37.717
1677. Dominique AegerterKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:37.764
1723. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 31:37.790
184. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto21:38.042
1955. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:38.104
2021. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:38.142
2139. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:38.175
2288. Ricard CardusTech 3Tech 31:38.222
2395. Anthony WestSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:38.262
2425. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:38.551
2596. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:38.997
2670. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:39.019
2715. Ratthapark WilairotSuterJPmoto Malaysia1:39.169
2866. Florian AltSuterOcto IodaRacing Team1:39.273
292. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG1:39.298
3010. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG1:39.991
3113. Jasper IwemaSpeed UpAbbink GP1:40.717