Ellinas on top in opening Red Bull Ring test

Tio Ellinas set the pace in the first of the two scheduled collective test sessions of the Formula Renault 3.5 Series event at the Red Bull Ring on Friday.

The Cypriot Strakka Racing driver set a time of 1m18.222s to lead the way by 0.146s from Brazilian driver Pietro Fantin, who took second with a last gasp lap for International Draco Racing.

Fantin’s lap saw him jump ahead of Championship leader Oliver Rowland of Fortec Motorsports, who is back in his usual seat this weekend after making his GP2 Series debut last weekend at Silverstone.

Tom Dillmann placed fourth for Jagonya Ayam with Carlin ahead of Roy Nissany of Tech 1 Racing, with current Manor F1 Team driver Roberto Merhi sixth in the leading Pons Racing entry.

Jazeman Jaafar was seventh in the second Fortec Motorsports entry ahead of AVF driver Alfonso Celis Jr, while Meindert van Buuren was ninth on his return to Pons Racing, ahead of Strakka Racing’s Gustav Malja.

It was a relatively quiet session for championship challenger Matthieu Vaxiviere, who could only finish down in eighteenth, four places behind Lotus team-mate Marlon Stockinger who is returning to the team in place of van Buuren this weekend.

Current Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Championship leader Louis Deletraz was twentieth on his FR3.5 debut for Comtec Racing, ahead of Hungaroring race winner Egor Orudzhev of Arden Motorsport.

Red Bull Ring Collective Test 1 Result

111Tio EllinasCYPStrakka Racing1m18.222s
219Pietro FantinBRZInternational Draco Racing1m18.368s
34Oliver RowlandGBRFortec Motorsports1m18.424s
426Tom DillmannFRAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m18.504s
517Roy NissanyISRTech 1 Racing1m18.587s
640Roberto MerhiESPPons Racing1m18.665s
73Jazeman JaafarMALFortec Motorsports1m18.850s
815Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1m18.861s
939Meindert van BuurenNEDPons Racing1m18.899s
1012Gustav MaljaSWEStrakka Racing1m18.998s
1116Beitske VisserNEDAVF1m19.089s
1225Sean GelaelINOJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m19.114s
132Dean StonemanGBRDAMS1m19.197s
1410Marlon StockingerPHILotus1m19.220s
151Nyck de VriesNEDDAMS1m19.405s
1620Bruno BonifacioBRZInternational Draco Racing1m19.616s
1718Aurelien PanisFRATech 1 Racing1m19.746s
189Matthieu VaxiviereFRALotus1m19.757s
195Nicholas LatifiCANArden Motorsport1m20.030s
2021Louis DeletrazSWIComtec Racing1m20.757s
216Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1m20.852s