BRDC Formula 4

Omar Ismail Claims first BRDC F4 Pole

1 Mins read

Omar Ismail claims his first pole position of the season after a impressive run on Friday allowed him to get momentum for the Saturday qualifying session. The BRDC Formula 4 racer will look to improve on the 20 points he already has in the championship.

The conclusion saw the same top three in practice as we had seen for the practice sessions. Championship leader Will Palmer claimed second place in his HHC Motorsport car. He’d started the session off poorly, struggling to find clear track. However; pulled a lap out with 12 minutes to go to leap up to third, soon beating his team mate.

HHC Motorsport continued their impressive run going third as well with Harri Newey. The 16 year old dominated the Friday pracitce session but was unable to claim his second pole of the year.

The session had started with Ismail being the first out of the pits. Behind him in the early stages were Rodrigo Fonseca and Sisa Ngebulana as the times continued to fall.

One of the largest differences in speed was seen at the half way point with the third placed, Newey being a full second quicker than Tom Jackson in fourth, who would maintain the position until the end ahead of Fernando Urrutia

A few drivers, including Jordan Albert and rookie Marc Gonzalez saw their times deleted late on but this did not affect the order largely as the session ended under red flag, with James Reveler stopping in the final sector with two minutes to go.

1347 posts

About author
Single-Seater Specialist who worked for TCF from 2015-19. Come finding me wandering the paddock.
Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.