Simeon Sees Off Zarco for First Moto2 Win

Xavier Simeon became the first Belgian to win a Grand Prix for 32 years after defeating Johann Zarco at the Sachsenring. The Federal Oil Gresini rider edged out the championship leader in a tense finish while mayhem ensued behind, with Franco Morbidelli and Tito Rabat tangling at the final corner as they disputed the final rostrum position.

Despite dominating much of qualifying on Saturday, Zarco was never able to escape at the front of the field with Morbidelli shadowing him through the first half of the race. Once the Frenchman began to make a break nine laps from home, Simeon acted quickly and decisively to outbrake Morbidelli at turn twelve before jumping across the gap to Zarco, setting the stage for an exciting finale.

With four laps remaining, Simeon sprang into action with a move up the inside of Zarco into turn one and although the Frenchman piled on the pressure in search of a third straight win, Simeon kept him at bay to claim a historic win for himself and Gresini. Zarco banked the twenty points on offer for second but his title rival experienced contrasting fortunes.

Having clawed his way up the order after a difficult start, Rabat was running third approaching the final corner but Morbidelli hadn’t given up on a first Moto2 podium and charged up the inside into turn thirteen. Unfortunately for the Italtrans rider, his ambition was too much for the front end of his Kalex which folded underneath him, wiping out Rabat who was left to nurse his recently-plated collarbone.

The chief beneficiary was Alex Rins who inherited a fortunate third ahead of Simone Corsi with Sam Lowes promoted to fifth, a welcome result after falling as low as eleventh in the early stages. Thomas Luthi took sixth ahead of Takaaki Nakagami and Lorenzo Baldassarri with Julian Simon and Dominique Aegerter completing the top ten.



119. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto241:09.295
25. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport+0.083
340. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+1.646
43. Simone CorsiKalexForward Racing+6.386
522. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing+9.284
612. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten+10.432
730. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+10.592
87. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Racing+12.518
960. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+14.862
1077. Dominique AegerterKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten+14.953
1111. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP+17.529
1236. Mika KallioKalexItaltrans Racing Team+18.820
134. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto2+21.849
1494. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team+22.362
1549. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team+23.275
1655. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia+23.429
1739. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+28.507
1873. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS+32.740
1988. Ricard CardusTech 3Tech 3+33.465
2070. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten+33.508
212. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG+55.191
2210. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG+57.449
2315. Ratthapark WilairotSuterJPmoto Malaysia+57.776
NC21. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team+1 Lap
NC1. Tito RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS+1 Lap
NC96. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+4 Laps
NC23. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 3+24 Laps
NC25. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+24 Laps
NC95. Anthony WestSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+25 Laps
NQ66. Florian AltSuterOcto IodaRacing TeamInjured