Zarco Extends Pole Streak at the Sachsenring

Johann Zarco has claimed his third consecutive pole position as his dominance of the Moto2 class continues in Germany. The championship leader dominated the qualifying session with nobody overhauling him from the moment he took top spot five minutes in, although Xavier Simeon did run him close in the latter stages.

Within five minutes of the pitlane opening, Zarco had already established his superiority at the top of the leaderboard, setting a 1:24.453. Tito Rabat, riding despite suffering a broken collarbone in a training crash last weekend, was second fastest on a 1:24.541 but as the reigning champion found improvements hard to come by, he plummeted down the order.

Zarco didn’t have the same difficulties, lowering the benchmark time to a 1:24.044 at the halfway stage and with four tenths in hand over the rest of the field, pole position looked to be in the bag. Franco Morbidelli led the chasing pack having leapfrogged Rabat for second but he was edged out in the closing minutes by Simeon, the Belgian only missing out on a shock pole by 0.089s.

Morbidelli held onto third with Thomas Luthi and Simone Corsi relegating Rabat to sixth. The two leading Germans in the field, Sandro Cortese and Jonas Folger, will start their home Grand Prix from seventh and eighth with Sam Lowes starting from his lowest grid slot of the season after failing to drag his Speed Up any higher than ninth.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
15. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport1:24.044
219. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:24.133
321. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:24.291
412. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten1:24.403
53. Simone CorsiKalexForward Racing1:24.449
61. Tito RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:24.507
711. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:24.515
894. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team1:24.618
922. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:24.661
1036. Mika KallioKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:24.669
1130. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:24.696
1240. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:24.710
1377. Dominique AegerterKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:24.710
1449. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team1:24.733
1560. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:24.782
167. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Racing1:24.921
1755. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:24.922
1895. Anthony WestSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:24.970
194. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto21:25.027
2088. Ricard CardusTech 3Tech 31:25.097
2123. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 31:25.216
2239. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:25.231
2325. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:25.343
2473. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:25.506
2515. Ratthapark WilairotSuterJPmoto Malaysia1:25.536
262. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG1:25.616
2770. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:25.827
2810. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG1:26.208
2996. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:26.234
NQ66. Florian AltSuterOcto IodaRacing TeamNo Time