Ocon loses race 1 Spa win following post-race penalty

Following the publishing of the race report it was announced that several drivers received penalties – one of these being race winner Esteban Ocon.

Ocon was found to have breached the Virtual Safety Car (VSC) speed limit at Turns 15-16 which is a breach of Article 41.2 of the GP3 Sporting Regulations. After confirmation from the stewards it was found that the ART Grand Prix driver exceed VSC speed limit before the green lights were shown. As a result, the Frenchman has lost his race win and has dropped to second place.

Status Grand Prix‘s Seb Morris has been handed a five-place grid penalty for causing a collision with Pal Varhaug at Turn 5. Due to this penalty not being able to be taken in full the Welshman will start tomorrow’s race from the pit lane.

Matheo Tuscher has also been penalised for causing a collision with Sandy Stuvik at Turn 13 and will take a five-place grid drop for the Sprint Race.

The final driver to have been penalised was Jimmy Eriksson who was handed a drove through penalty in the race for a jump start; however, the driver served this penalty under VSC conditions which is not allowed. Therefore, Eriksson has had a twenty second time penalty added to his elapsed racing time – meaning he falls from fifth place to P13.