Jackson Takes Race 2 Victory after Leaders Collide

Tom Jackson took his second win of the season in an action-packed race that saw his two championship rivals not finish. The result will also move him into second in the BRDC Formula 4 drivers’ championship.

The second race of the weekend at Snetterton had started off dramatically, when polesitter Akhil Rabindra hit second place Rodrigo Fonseca into the first corner. A huge disappointment for Fonseca who made an excellent drive through the field yesterday to finish seventh after starting last.

Also involved was Ciaran Haggerty, who lost his front wing as a result and Al Faisal Al Zubair, who partially damaged his and fell to fifth.

The safety car had to be called as the drivers worked their way through the first corner carnage. By now Chris Mealin led the race, there he would stay for most of the session as positions swapped behind.

Over the course of the race, the top three of Mealin, Jackson and Will Palmer broke away. Palmer was the driver on the move, having taken Jackson after many laps of pressure.

With a few minutes to go, he dove down the inside of Agostini to take the lead from Mealin, but the two collided. Palmer found himself off and out of the race, while Mealins running wide allowed Jackson to inherit the lead from third.

Jackson would hold on for the win with Mealin settling for second. In third was Harri Newey. He’d made his way up to fourth on the restart but was unable to keep up over the course of the race. He eventually caught up to Mealin on the final lap, but it was too little too late.

Rounding out the top five was Al Zubair, who continues his excellent weekend and Omar Ismail, who had a relatively quiet race until his battle for fourth in the closing stages. While Jordan Albert would take sixth after a damaged Haggerty was unable to hold on to his position, while Jack Lang rounds out the top 8.