Rins Beats Rabat to Indianapolis Pole Position

Alex Rins backed up his encouraging practice form by taking pole position for the Indianapolis Grand Prix. The Spanish rookie was quickest in Friday’s opening session and carried that performance into qualifying, seeing off the spirited challenge of Tito Rabat to claim his second pole position of 2015.

The stage was set for a straight fight between the two Spaniards in qualifying and both delivered with pole swapping hands regularly in the early stages. Sam Lowes also looked set to fly the flag for Great Britain on the front row of the grid, even taking top spot at one stage, but the Speed Up rider crashed out at turn seven with twenty minutes remaining and his challenge faded from that point onwards.

With just under half an hour to go, Rabat took over at the top with a 1:36.781 but Rins found a quarter of a second on his return to the fray, going quickest again on a 1:36.549. To emphasise his superiority, Rins matched his own benchmark time to the thousandth of a second on his very next lap and despite his best efforts, Rabat couldn’t get back on terms.

Mika Kallio rediscovered the form which took him to victory here last season, snatching the last spot on the front row, while Thomas Luthi, Jonas Folger and Takaaki Nakagami secured second row slots at the expense of Lowes who tumbled to seventh. Championship leader Johann Zarco also suffered, qualifying down in eighth, with Franco Morbidelli and Sandro Cortese completing the top ten.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
140. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:36.549
21. Tito RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:36.686
336. Mika KallioKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:36.865
412. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten1:36.886
594. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team1:37.005
630. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:37.022
722. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:37.038
85. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport1:37.055
921. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:37.081
1011. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:37.095
1177. Dominique AegerterKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:37.125
1225. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:37.157
1373. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:37.329
1455. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:37.365
154. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto21:37.367
1619. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:37.419
1760. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:37.462
1849. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team1:37.528
1923. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 31:37.622
2039. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:37.806
2170. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:37.945
2215. Ratthapark WilairotSuterJPmoto Malaysia1:37.998
2395. Anthony WestSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:38.101
242. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG1:38.350
2597. Xavier ViergeTech 3Tech 31:38.586
2696. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:38.843
2710. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG1:38.943
2866. Florian AltSuterIodaRacing Team1:39.956