Spa Pole Position for Luca Ghiotto

In a repeat of his incredible GP3 debut from last season, Luca Ghiotto has claimed pole for this afternoons race at Spa-Francorchamps – and in the process claimed his fourth pole of the season and the fifth of his career. Ghiotto’s lap time was a tenth of a second faster than ART Grand Prix’s Esteban Ocon, with Ocon’s team mate Marvin Kirchhöfer in third.

After  leading the way in Free Practice, Ghiotto clearly had the pace to challenge for pole and the Italian was the first to dip into the 2m04’s bracket, and at the time held a three tenth advantage over Arden International’s Emil Bernstorff.

Carlin and Ferrari Academy Driver Antonio Fuoco moved up to third, before Ocon split Ghiotto and Bernstorff as the clock ticked down. As the chequered flag came out, Kirchhöfer was on his best lap, lighting the timing screens purple. The German moved up to third as the session drew to a close.

Behind the top three of Ghiotto, Ocon and Kirchhöfer was Bernstorff, Fuoco, Kevin Ceccon, Matthew Parry, Matheo Tuscher, Jimmy Eriksson and Alfonso Celis Jr.

It is also worth noting the job that Status Grand Prix’s Seb Morris done, with the Briton having not completely a single lap during practice due to a mechanical issue, and took to the track for the first time this weekend and achieved 13th place on the grid for the Feature Race.

After the session, Kirchhofer was issued with a three-place grid penalty for impeding Koiranen GP’s Parry, meaning the German driver will start sixth behind Bernstorff, Fuoco and Ceccon.

Spa-Francorchamps Qualifying Result

127Luca GhiottoITATrident2m04.943s
26Esteban OconFRAART Grand Prix2m05.114s
315Emil BernstorffGBRArden International2m05.308s
41Antonio FuocoITACarlin2m05.458s
514Kevin CecconITAArden International2m05.591s
65Marvin KirchhoferGERART Grand Prix2m05.144s
712Matt ParryGBRKoiranen GP2m05.618s
821Matheo TuscherSWIJenzer Motorsport2m05.669s
911Jimmy ErikssonSWEKoiranen GP2m05.704s
104Alfonso Celis JrMEXART Grand Prix2m05.834s
112Jann MardenboroughGBRCarlin2m05.869s
1220Pal VarhaugNORJenzer Motorsport2m05.931s
137Seb MorrisGBRStatus Grand Prix2m05.938s
1424Alex PalouESPCampos Racing2m05.939s
153Mitch GilbertAUSCarlin2m06.065s
1622Ralph BoschungSWIJenzer Motorsport2m06.110s
1726Artur JanoszPOLTrident2m06.314s
188Alex FontanaSWIStatus Grand Prix2m06.317s
1928Beitske VisserNEDTrident2m06.373s
2010Adderly FongCHNKoiranen GP2m06.537s
2116Aleksander BosakPOLArden International2m06.538s
2223Zaid AshkananiKUWCampos Racing2m06.922s
239Sandy StuvikTHAStatus Grand Prix2m07.106s