Vandoorne dominates Spa-Francorchamps qualifying

Stoffel Vandoorne took his fourth pole position of the GP2 Series season as he dominated qualifying at his home circuit of Spa-Francorchamps on Friday.

The current GP2 Series championship leader set a time of 1m56.278s to beat current Formula Renault 3.5 Series leader Oliver Rowland by 0.147s.

ART Grand Prix’s Vandoorne always looked in control of the session, and used an alternative strategy to the majority of the field to enable himself to get a clear lap in after finding himself compromised during qualifying last time out at the Hungaroring.

MP Motorsport driver Rowland was closest to Vandoorne, with the Briton getting ahead of Rapax’s Sergey Sirotkin by just under a tenth of a second, while Jordan King placed fourth for Racing Engineering.

Hungaroring Sprint race winner Nobuharu Matsushita continued his strong pace, qualifying fifth in the second ART Grand Prix entry, just 0.002s ahead of Russian Time’s Mitch Evans, while Pierre Gasly was the leading DAMS driver in seventh.

Alexander Rossi will start the Feature race in Belgium from eighth for Racing Engineering ahead of DAMS driver Alex Lynn, while Norman Nato completed the top ten for Arden International.

Rio Haryanto of Campos Racing, currently sitting second in the championshop standings behind Vandoorne, appeared to struggle for pace throughout the session before jumping up to eleventh towards the end of the session, just ahead of Trident’s Raffaele Marciello.

Spa-Francorchamps Qualifying Times

15Stoffel VandoorneBELART Grand Prix1m56.278s
216Oliver RowlandGBRMP Motorsport1m56.425s
318Sergey SirotkinRUSRapax1m56.513s
47Jordan KingGBRRacing Engineering1m56.625s
56Nobuharu MatsushitaJAPART Grand Prix1m56.659s
69Mitch EvansNZLRussian Time1m56.661s
71Pierre GaslyFRADAMS1m56.701s
88Alexander RossiUSARacing Engineering1m56.845s
92Alex LynnGBRDAMS1m56.985s
1021Norman NatoFRAArden International1m57.019s
1115Rio HaryantoINOCampos Racing1m57.143s
1211Raffaele MarcielloITATrident1m57.218s
1319Robert VisoiuROMRapax1m57.273s
1414Arthur PicFRACampos Racing1m57.275s
1524Nick YellolyGBRHilmer Motorsport1m57.328s
163Julian LealCOLCarlin1m57.440s
1723Richie StanawayNZLStatus Grand Prix1m57.528s
1827Sergio CanamasasESPLazarus1m57.560s
1926Nathanael BerthonFRALazarus1m57.615s
2020Andre NegraoBRZArden International1m57.661s
2117Daniel de JongNEDMP Motorsport1m57.746s
2210Artem MarkelovRUSRussian Time1m57.809s
2322Marlon StockingerPHIStatus Grand Prix1m58.136s
2412Gustav MaljaSWETrident1m58.371s
254Sean GelaelINOCarlin1m58.402s