Vandoorne leads Evans in Spa free practice

GP2 Series championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne was quickest in practice at Spa-Francorchamps, leading Mitch Evans and Alexander Rossi.

ART Grand Prix driver Vandoorne, racing in front of his home fans in Belgium this weekend, set a time of 1m57.499s early in the session to take top spot, and then improved that to a 1m57.486s to confirm his place at the head of the field.

Evans was second for Russian Time, 0.154s back from Vandoorne, with Rossi third for Racing Engineering ahead of DAMS driver Alex Lynn.

Current Formula Renault 3.5 Series leader Oliver Rowland was an impressive fifth on his second appearance for MP Motorsport, but stopped on track late in the session at the Bus Stop Chicane.

Pierre Gasly was sixth in the second DAMS machine ahead of Sergey Sirotkin of Rapax, while Arthur Pic was eighth for Campos Racing despite losing his front wing after colliding with the barrier on the run down to Pouhon.

Jordan King was ninth in the second Racing Engineering entry, while Raffaele Marciello completed the top ten for Trident despite having a close encounter with one of the Status Grand Prix drivers after the Italian was forced to stop at the end of the pit lane.

A further incident for debutant Gustav Malja brought out more yellow flags when the Swedish driver, racing this weekend at Trident in place of an unwell Rene Binder, lost the back end of his car and was left stranded at the Bus Stop Chicane.

Spa-Francorchamps Practice Times

15Stoffel VandoorneBELART Grand Prix1m57.486s
29Mitch EvansNZLRussian Time1m57.640s
38Alexander RossiUSARacing Engineering1m57.731s
42Alex LynnGBRDAMS1m57.833s
516Oliver RowlandGBRMP Motorsport1m57.841s
61Pierre GaslyFRADAMS1m57.871s
718Sergey SirotkinRUSRapax1m58.108s
814Arthur PicFRACampos Racing1m58.141s
97Jordan KingGBRRacing Engineering1m58.188s
1011Raffaele MarcielloITATrident1m58.231s
1121Norman NatoFRAArden International1m58.249s
1227Sergio CanamasasESPLazarus1m58.343s
1310Artem MarkelovRUSRussian Time1m58.446s
1417Daniel de JongNEDMP Motorsport1m58.463s
1523Richie StanawayNZLStatus Grand Prix1m58.496s
1620Andre NegraoBRZArden International1m58.744s
1715Rio HaryantoINOCampos Racing1m58.822s
1826Nathanael BerthonFRALazarus1m58.866s
193Julian LealCOLCarlin1m58.884s
2022Marlon StockingerPHIStatus Grand Prix1m59.202s
216Nobuharu MatsushitaJAPART Grand Prix1m59.209s
2224Nick YellolyGBRHilmer Motorsport1m59.232s
2319Robert VisoiuROMRapax1m59.610s
244Sean GelaelINOCarlin2m00.683s
2512Gustav MaljaSWETrident2m01.194s