Zarco Claims Comfortable Czech GP Pole

Johann Zarco looks well placed to extend his Moto2 championship lead after dominating Saturday’s qualifying session at Brno. The Frenchman leads by 71 points in the title chase and looked just as comfortable this afternoon, taking top spot on his first run and never relinquishing pole position from there.

With temperatures soaring as the afternoon unfolded, many riders found conditions more favourable at the beginning of the session with Zarco setting a 2:01.763 ten minutes in to wrestle pole away from Tito Rabat. He didn’t know at the time, but Johann had already set a time quick enough for pole position but the Frenchman emphasised his superiority with a 2:01.614 on his very next lap, moving him three tenths clear of the competition.

Rabat was another rider to peak in the early stages of the session but Alex Rins bucked the trend, reeling off a magnificent sequence of laps in the closing minutes to climb onto the front row, edging out Sandro Cortese who looked set for his first front row start of the season. The German will still line up in a season’s best fourth with Swiss pair Thomas Luthi and Dominique Aegerter joining him on the second row. Alex Marquez also qualified higher than he has all year in seventh, pipping Franco Morbidelli and Axel Pons, while practice pacesetter Jonas Folger rounded out the top ten.

Sam Lowes had his eyes on a top six starting slot but his session started poorly and never picked up. The Briton abandoned his first run as early as his out lap after a change of front forks failed to bring the desired effect and his final run was ultimately cut short when his rear suspension appeared to collapse. The upshot of it all was thirteenth on the grid, leaving him with plenty of work to do tomorrow.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
15. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport2:01.614
21. Tito RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS2:01.873
340. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 402:01.901
411. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP2:01.990
512. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten2:02.078
677. Dominique AegerterKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten2:02.442
773. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS2:02.535
821. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team2:02.543
949. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team2:02.611
1094. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team2:02.634
117. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Racing2:02.711
123. Simone CorsiKalexForward Racing2:02.728
1322. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing2:02.855
144. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto22:02.860
1539. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 402:02.867
1630. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia2:02.917
1755. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia2:03.008
1836. Mika KallioKalexItaltrans Racing Team2:03.011
1919. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto22:03.083
2096. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto22:03.423
2123. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 32:03.440
2260. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team2:03.558
2395. Anthony WestSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team2:03.816
2470. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten2:03.859
2525. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia2:03.982
2610. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG2:04.073
2757. Edgar PonsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 402:04.118
2888. Ricard CardusSuterJPmoto Malaysia2:04.234
2966. Florian AltSuterIodaRacing Team2:04.309
3097. Xavier ViergeTech 3Tech 32:04.435
312. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG2:04.928