British Superbike

Brookes on Pole for BSB Showdown Opener

1 Mins read

Josh Brookes is perfectly placed for the start of the British Superbike Championship showdown after taking pole position at Assen. The Australian carries a two point lead over Shane Byrne into the showdown phase of the season and was in a different class to his title rivals on Saturday, claiming a dominant pole position.

Brookes was quickest in both of the knockout sessions prior to Q3 and the Australian admitted his scorching pace was a surprise even to himself.

“I was coming into this event with some confidence and having ridden here earlier in the year on the different spec bike meant I had a good idea of where we could be and when I was doing 1:37s I thought that might be where we levelled off. What I thought was already a fairly well prepared bike, and one I was confident with, the team chopped and changed it a bit and we found some extra tenths so the team really delivered it for me. To go out and do a 1:35.9 is even a surprise to me. Sure I had to ride the bike, hold the handle bars and push the tyres but the team have stepped up a level this weekend and it is perfect timing.”

Second spot on the grid didn’t go to Byrne, but to James Ellison who celebrated the news that he will remain with JG Speedfit Kawasaki for 2016 in style. John Hopkins shone once again on the Moto Rapido Ducati to take third ahead of championship outsider Michael Laverty while Byrne had to settle for fifth, his final run compromised by yellow flags following a crash for Jack Kennedy.

Danny Buchan proved his outstanding display at Oulton Park was no fluke by completing the second row while Luke Mossey heads row three, just ahead of Kennedy who will line-up eighth as long as he is declared fit for tomorrow’s first race. The two remaining showdown competitors start on their back foot with Tommy Bridewell ninth, five places ahead of Honda’s Dan Linfoot.




[table id=613 /]

Avatar photo
5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts
British SuperbikeDakarRoad Racing

Isle of Man TT winner James Hillier set for Dakar Rally debut in 2023 Malle Moto

2 Mins read
After a delay, James Hillier will make his first Dakar Rally start in 2023. Riding in the Malle Moto class, he will be the first Isle of Man TT winner to challenge Dakar.
British Superbike

Exclusive interview with Ben Luxton

3 Mins read
Getting to know one of the UK’s rising talents. Here’s an exclusive interview with British Superstock 600 rider Ben Luxton
British SuperbikeRoad Racing

Honda Racing confirm their 2020 British Superbike plans

1 Mins read
Honda Racing have announced their British Superbike and Superstock plans, along with their road racing plans for the 2020 season.