Norris takes Sixth Win of the Year at Rockingham

15 year old Lando Norris ensures he opens a small gap as championship leader after winning the first race in Rockingham from pole position. The Carlin driver was under pressure at the start, but drove off in the later half of the race to secure his sixth win of the year.

Norris had started alongside Colton Herta on the grid. It was the American who made the best getaway and lead going down into Dean. However; it was not just a two car race as Dan Ticktum squeezed his way in between to make it three-wide going into the first turn.

Norris would have the inside line and retake his lead as the top three broke away in the early stages. However; an intense battle between Ticktum in second and Herta behind saw the two contenders slowly drop off the back of Norris.

There had been a safety car at the end of the first lap after Toby Sowery ran off into the gravel getting himself beached and hindering his chances for the second race tomorrow morning.

As the race went on, the battle for second drew in the cars behind. Enaam Ahmed had worked his way into fourth after a good start and was quickly under pressure from Matheus Leist. The two caught the podium battle with 5 minutes to go, but was unable to capitalise on a mistake from Herta meaning that they would stay in their respective positions as the flag fell.

Behind was Sennan Fielding, who will likely be disappointed in sixth as it ends his run of top four finishes he’d kept up since June at Oulton Park.

Behind them was Petru Florescu who had a lonely race in seventh while Daniel Baybutt won the race long battle for eighth. Baybutt had made a poor start, but worked his way back into contention late on after capitalising on a mistake from Josh Smith.

With eighteen finishers, ninth gave Ricky Collard reverse pole. After starting from the back he was up to thirteenth after only one lap and managed secure the best posible starting position for race two after a disastrous qualifying that saw him lose his championship lead. Sandy Mitchell was tenth.