Palmer Dominates Race Three to Win Title

His tenth win of the year ensures Will Palmer collects the 2015 Duo BRDC Formula 4 title, with three races to go. The title was secured as rivals Harri Newey and Tom Jackson could not get the points needed to draw out the fight.

It was yet another race that saw Palmer start on pole having collected the fastest lap in the first two. He would continue this run of form in the final race, as at one point his fastest lap was almost two seconds quicker than Jack Lang, the next quickest driver on course.

Palmer made a good start and was unchallenged for much of the race. It was Rodrigo Fonseca who made the best start moving himself quickly into second, however; pressure from Newey would mean the Mexican was unable to keep up with Palmer between any of the two safety car periods.

At the flag, Palmer crossed the line to the cheering HHC Motorsport team, a distance in front of Fonseca and Newey, who held on to his third after being challenged in the later stages.

The battle for fourth had been intense all race with Hernan Fallas eventually holding on to claim his best result of the season. Having been at the back for much of the second race, he put in a fast lap and put himself in the prime position to take the 21 points.

It had been tight over the line as fifth place Ciaran Haggerty bump drafted the Argentine driver to win his own drag race with Omar Ismail, who had been running in fifth until the last corner when he lost momentum trying to overtake Fallas in front.

The queue of cars was concluded by Ameya Vaidyanathan and Jack Bartholomew, who went side by side over the line after a close fight in which the two drivers were never far off the pace of the drivers in front.

In ninth overall was Jordan Albert, who will rue his missed opportunity after the jump start in race two, while Akhil Rabindra rounded out the top ten.

Newey moves into second after Jackson’s poor race where he collided with Chris Mealin early on, bringing out the safety car.