Rowland leads the way in Nurburgring practice

by Paul Hensby

Current Formula Renault 3.5 Series championship leader Oliver Rowland set the pace at the end of the two collective tests ahead of this weekend’s round at the Nurburgring in Germany.

The Racing Steps Foundation-backed Fortec Motorsports driver was one of only two drivers to dip below 1m42s during the day, with his 1m41.961s enough to see him end the afternoon on top.

Strakka Racing’s Gustav Malja was second quickest, just 0.028s adrift of Rowland, while the Swede’s Cypriot team-mate and the race winner of the opening race of last weekend’s Silverstone event Tio Ellinas was third quickest, just 0.195s off the pace.

Dean Stoneman had been quickest in the opening session in the morning, but could only finish fourth fastest overall in his Red Bull-livered DAMS machine, with Pietro Fantin fifth quickest for International Draco Racing.

Rowland’s main rival in the championship Matthieu Vaxiviere was sixth for Lotus, ahead of Nyck de Vries of DAMS, who will take a two-place grid penalty for Saturday’s opening race following a penalty at Silverstone for causing a collision during race two last Sunday.

Jagonya Ayam with Carlin’s Tom Dillmann was eighth quickest overall, but was responsible for a red flag after crashing on circuit, with the session being delayed while repairs were made to the barriers.

AVF duo Alfonso Celis Jr and Beitske Visser completed the top ten.

Pons Racing’s debutant duo Rene Binder and Yu Kanamaru were eighteenth and nineteenth respectively, with Austrian Binder causing another red flag late in the second session, causing the session to end early.

Earlier, Sean Gelael stopped on track when his fire extinguisher went off in his Jagonya Ayam with Carlin car, causing the first red flag of the morning session, with the Indonesian racer returning to the track briefly in the second session but ended with the slowest time of the day.

Nurburgring Collective Tests Results (Combined)

14Oliver RowlandGBRFortec Motorsports1m42.665s1m41.961s
212Gustav MaljaSWEStrakka Racing1m42.929s1m41.989s
311Tio EllinasCYPStrakka Racing1m42.570s1m42.156s
42Dean StonemanGBRDAMS1m42.369s1m42.199s
519Pietro FantinBRZInternational Draco Racing1m43.324s1m42.235s
69Matthieu VaxiviereFRALotus1m43.115s1m42.392s
71Nyck de VriesNEDDAMS1m42.486s1m42.400s
826Tom DillmannFRAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m42.609s1m50.970s
915Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1m42.667s1m43.399s
1016Beitske VisserNEDAVF1m43.223s1m42.697s
115Nicholas LatifiCANArden Motorsport1m43.134s1m42.712s
1220Bruno BonifacioBRZInternational Draco Racing1m43.594s1m42.884s
133Jazeman JaafarMALFortec Motorsports1m43.431s1m42.954s
146Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1m43.138s1m43.030s
1518Aurelien PanisFRATech 1 Racing1m44.562s1m43.070s
1610Marlon StockingerPHILotus1m44.706s1m43.101s
1717Roy NissanyISRTech 1 Racing1m44.906s1m43.104s
1840Rene BinderAUTPons Racing1m44.593s1m43.318s
1939Yu KanamaruJAPPons Racing1m44.535s1m43.773s
2025Sean GelaelINOJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m45.146s1m51.934s

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More