Rowland secures fifth 2015 victory at home

by Paul Hensby

Oliver Rowland secured a home victory at Silverstone as he took advantage of a slow pit stop from Matthieu Vaxiviere to extend his Formula Renault 3.5 Series championship lead.

The Racing Steps Foundation-backed Fortec Motorsports driver fell in behind his main championship rival at the start, but a slow stop from Lotus driver Vaxiviere dropped him behind the Briton and Brazilian Pietro Fantin of International Draco Racing.

Vaxiviere quickly re-passed Fantin for second, but could not make a move stick on Rowland, and was forced to settle for second place, with the gap in the championship extending to thirty-six points with just six races of the season remaining.

Fantin held off the challenge of Dean Stoneman to complete the podium, with just 0.672s between him and the Red Bull-backed DAMS driver at the chequered flag.

Nicholas Latifi and Egor Orudzhev were fifth and sixth for Arden Motorsport, with both drivers also suffering slow pit stops and losing time as a result, while Nick Yelloly secured his first points back in the series with seventh for Lotus.

Gustav Malja was the leading Strakka Racing entrant home, finishing in eighth, with Aurélien Panis claiming ninth for Tech 1 Racing despite a last lap clash with race one winner Tio Ellinas that saw both drivers spin at the Luffield complex. The incident allowed Sean Gelael of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin to snatch the final point ahead of Ellinas and the two AVF machines of Alfonso Celis Jr and Beitske Visser.

Nyck de Vries is under investigation for two incidents during the race, the first of which was with Ellinas at turn one on the opening lap, while he was also involved in a clash with Bruno Bonifacio that saw the International Draco Racing driver retire in the gravel trap at the loop, while de Vries brought his DAMS machine into the pits with a broken suspension to retire.

An incident between Tom Dillmann of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin and Roy Nissany of Tech 1 Racing is also under review, as is the clash between Panis and Ellinas.

Silverstone Race 2 Qualifying Result

14Oliver RowlandGBRFortec Motorsports24 Laps
29Matthieu VaxiviereFRALotus+1.204s
319Pietro FantinBRZInternational Draco Racing+3.384s
42Dean StonemanGBRDAMS+4.066s
55Nicholas LatifiCANArden Motorsport+10.255s
66Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport+14.166s
710Nick YellolyGBRLotus+15.776s
812Gustav MaljaSWEStrakka Racing+22.536s
918Aurelien PanisFRATech 1 Racing+31.772s
1025Sean GelaelINOJagonya Ayam with Carlin+31.938s
1111Tio EllinasCYPStrakka Racing+34.014s
1215Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF+34.619s
1316Beitske VisserNEDAVF+39.690s
1417Roy NissanyISRTech 1 Racing+40.105s
1540Will BrattGBRPons Racing+40.404s
1639Philo Paz Patric ArmandINOPons Racing+50.302s
RET26Tom DillmannFRAJagonya Ayam with CarlinRetired
RET1Nyck de VriesNEDDAMSRetired
RET20Bruno BonifacioBRZInternational Draco RacingRetired
RET3Jazeman JaafarMALFortec MotorsportsRetired

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More