Vaxiviere dominates second Silverstone qualifying

Matthieu Vaxiviere beat Oliver Rowland to pole position for race two of the Formula Renault 3.5 Series weekend at Silverstone by almost seven-tenths of a second.

The two championship protagonists will form the front row of the grid at the home of British motorsport, but the Lotus driver was in sublime form, setting a time of 1m39.828s, 0.680s faster than his Fortec Motorsports rival.

Nick Yelloly had an impressive second qualifying session in the second Lotus, setting the third fastest time, 0.731s back on his team-mate, but will lose four places on the grid for failing to observe blue flags during the opening race on Saturday.

This means Nicholas Latifi of Arden Motorsport will start third ahead of Pietro Fantin, who will line-up fourth for International Draco Racing ahead of Saturday race winner Tio Ellinas, who could not replicate his first qualifying form and will start fifth ahead of Red Bull-backed Dean Stoneman of DAMS and Yelloly.

Nyck de Vries will start eighth in the McLaren-livered DAMS, while Egor Orudzhev of Arden and Jazeman Jaafar of Fortec complete the top ten.

Gustav Malja initially qualified fifth but had his best time from qualifying deleted for exceeding track limits on his fastest run in the second Strakka Racing entry.

Silverstone Race 2 Qualifying Result

19Matthieu VaxiviereFRALotus1m39.828s
24Oliver RowlandGBRFortec Motorsports1m40.408s
310Nick YellolyGBRLotus1m40.559s
45Nicholas LatifiCANArden Motorsport1m40.612s
519Pietro FantinBRZInternational Draco Racing1m40.656s
611Tio EllinasCYPStrakka Racing1m40.699s
72Dean StonemanGBRDAMS1m40.731s
81Nyck de VriesNEDDAMS1m40.743s
96Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1m40.820s
103Jazeman JaafarMALFortec Motorsports1m40.877s
1112Gustav MaljaSWEStrakka Racing1m40.998s
1226Tom DillmannFRAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m41.005s
1318Aurelien PanisFRATech 1 Racing1m41.175s
1417Roy NissanyISRTech 1 Racing1m41.479s
1525Sean GelaelINOJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m41.676s
1620Bruno BonifacioBRZInternational Draco Racing1m41.804s
1715Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1m41.958s
1816Beitske VisserNEDAVF1m42.069s
1939Philo Paz Patric ArmandINOPons Racing1m43.005s
2040Will BrattGBRPons Racing1m43.538s