BRDC Formula 4

Carlin Announce Entry to BRDC Formula 4 for 2016

1 Mins read

Carlin are the latest team announced for the 2016 BRDC Formula 4 Season, with the championship moving into a new era with new, upgraded cars. The surrey-based outfit will buy three cars for the following season as they look for immediate success.

The team has seen great success in a several categories including GP2, ensuring they bring experience and the knowledge to the series. However; like all the teams next year they’ll have to get use to the new Tatuus Cosworth MSV F4-016 car.

Jonathon Palmer, the series Chief Executive mentioned his delight at their entry, saying; “Trevor Carlin is enormously experienced and a very shrewd judge of the potential of motor sport categories, and clearly recognises that the new Tatuus-Cosworth car will provide a perfect stepping stone for drivers from Carlin’s MSA Formula team to prepare them for their FIA F3 team, at an affordable budget.”

If Carlin do use the seat as a means to promote its MSA Formula drivers, this could be a break for the young American, Colton Herta, who has yet to announce his plans. Having finished last year in third place overall, the 15-year-old should just be old enough to enter when the season starts next year.

While the Team Principle, Trevor Carlin said; “We know it’s important to go where the drivers want to race, and the new 2016 MSV F4 car has created real interest among young drivers.” Going on to say “We believe that the BRDC Formula 4 Championship is a very useful step in that process.”

“Providing a large amount of track time in a good car in a well-run championship will equip drivers well for the future. We will be working hard to make sure we arrive to our first race as well prepared as possible and look forward to announcing our drivers soon.”

They aren’t the first new team announced, with Fortec Motorsports having been revealed last month. The introduction of such high-class names shows the attention the championship is now receiving and the credibility it has gained in order for driver to progress.

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply