Champion Rowland takes final 2015 pole in Jerez

2015 Formula Renault 3.5 Series champion Oliver Rowland secured his seventh pole position of the season for the season finale at a wet Jerez on Sunday.

The Racing Steps Foundation-backed Fortec Motorsports driver left it late to set a time of 1m45.903s, which was enough to beat Matthieu Vaxiviere, the Briton’s main rival for the championship in 2015, by 0.116s.

Vaxiviere also left his best lap until late in the session, with both he and Rowland demoting DAMS driver Nyck de Vries to third as a result, with the Dutchman being joined on row two by race one podium finisher Egor Orudzhev of Arden Motorsport.

Alfonso Celis Jr had one of his strongest sessions of the season to qualify an excellent fifth for AVF, with double race winner in 2015 Tio Ellinas sixth for Strakka Racing.

The second Arden of Nicholas Latifi was seventh quickest ahead of race one pole-sitter Tom Dillmann of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin, while DAMS driver Dean Stoneman and Strakka Racing’s Gustav Malja complete the top ten.

Jerez Race 2 Qualifying Result

14Oliver RowlandGBRFortec Motorsports1m45.903s
29Matthieu VaxiviereFRALotus1m46.019s
31Nyck de VriesNEDDAMS1m46.352s
46Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1m46.768s
515Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1m47.056s
611Tio EllinasCYPStrakka Racing1m47.256s
75Nicholas LatifiCANArden Motorsport1m47.328s
826Tom DillmannFRAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m47.409s
92Dean StonemanGBRDAMS1m47.467s
1012Gustav MaljaSWEStrakka Racing1m47.477s
1119Andre NegraoBRZInternational Draco Racing1m47.702s
1239Yu KanamaruJAPPons Racing1m48.082s
1325Sean GelaelINOJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m48.157s
143Jazeman JaafarMALFortec Motorsports1m48.211s
1516Beitske VisserNEDAVF1m48.545s
1640Nikita ZlobinRUSPons Racing1m48.687s
1710Marlon StockingerPHILotus1m48.773s
1818Aurelien PanisFRATech 1 Racing1m48.987s
1917Roy NissanyISRTech 1 Racing1m49.846s