Ex-Ginetta Ace Murray Wins 2015 SEAT Ireland Title

Credit: Brian Walsh

Former Ginetta Junior Championship race-winner Niall Murray has been crowned the inaugural SEAT Supercup Ireland champion following a double victory at Kirkistown this past weekend.

Murray, who challenged for the Junior title in 2012, has starred this season in the tin-top series, which utilises the Leon MKII Supercopa as used in the BTCC-supporting SEAT Cupra Championship in 2007 and 2008.

The 20 year old got his Kirkistown weekend off to a perfect start with pole position for the opening race, which he duly converted into a dominant lights-to-flag seven second win with a new circuit Saloon Car lap record to boot.

Race two proved more challenging in his Murray Motorsport SEAT as he started from the back of the grid following the reverse grid selection. Charging up to fourth in the opening part of the race, Murray pulled off a couple of slick moves to get to second, before chasing down race leader Rod McGovern and passing him to seal the title win with a victory.

It’s been a fantastic weekend to end a brilliant season of racing,” said Murray.

“We just barely missed the first round with the car having some issues but since then, over the four weekends I’ve had three poles, six fastest laps and four wins. A massive thanks to my team Murray Motorsport who did a fantastic job as the car felt fantastic at each round!

“Thanks also to SEAT Ireland, SEAT Sport, Yokohama Tyres and everyone else involved in getting the SEAT Supercup Ireland series off the ground, it is just the class that Ireland needs!”

2010 Ginetta Junior Ireland champion Murray has competed in Rallycross and Formula Ford 1600 competition since his Junior days, winning the prestigious Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch in 2013 and the Irish and Northern Irish Formula Ford championships last season.