Orudzhev continues good form in Jerez tests

SMP Racing-backed Russian Egor Orudzhev continued his good end-of-season form to set the pace in the collective test sessions at Jerez.

The Arden Motorsport driver, who has won two races this season in Hungary and last time out in Le Mans, led the way in the opening of the two sessions with a time of 1m28.758s, with Matthieu Vaxiviere of Lotus the only other driver getting below the 1m29s barrier, with the Frenchman setting the pace with a 1m28.893s in the second session.

Beitske Visser was an excellent third for AVF ahead of team-mate Alfonso Celis Jr, with Nyck de Vries fifth on DAMS’ final appearance in the Formula Renault 3.5 Series before leaving to join the GP3 Series in 2016.

Nicolas Latifi was sixth in the second Arden Motorsport entry, ahead of Strakka Racing’s Tio Ellinas, with Tom Dillmann of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin eighth.

2015 champion Oliver Rowland was ninth for Fortec Motorsports, with team-mate Jazeman Jaafar completing the top ten.

For the second weekend in a row, only nineteen cars are racing, with Andre Negrao the sole representative for International Draco Racing, with the team looking set to quit the championship after agreeing to sell its cars and equipment to the new-for-2016 Spirit of Race team.

Jerez Collective Tests Results (Combined)

16Egor OrudzhevRUSArden Motorsport1m28.758s1m30.518s
29Matthieu VaxiviereFRALotus1m30.888s1m28.893s
316Beitske VisserNEDAVF1m29.021s1m31.174s
415Alfonso Celis JrMEXAVF1m29.056s1m32.003s
51Nyck de VriesNEDDAMS1m29.138s1m29.715s
65Nicholas LatifiCANArden Motorsport1m29.171s1m31.196s
711Tio EllinasCYPStrakka Racing1m29.398s1m29.417s
826Tom DillmannFRAJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m29.480s1m29.443s
94Oliver RowlandGBRFortec Motorsports1m30.164s1m29.453s
103Jazeman JaafarMALFortec Motorsports1m29.644s1m29.572s
1118Aurelien PanisFRATech 1 Racing1m29.759s1m30.573s
1212Gustav MaljaSWEStrakka Racing1m29.969s1m29.773s
132Dean StonemanGBRDAMS1m29.939s1m29.810s
1439Yu KanamaruJAPPons Racing1m30.241s1m29.878s
1525Sean GelaelINOJagonya Ayam with Carlin1m29.886s1m30.219s
1619Andre NegraoBRZInternational Draco Racing1m30.264s1m31.069s
1717Roy NissanyISRTech 1 Racing1m30.292s1m30.560s
1810Marlon StockingerPHILotus1m30.678s1m30.314s
1940Nikita ZlobinRUSPons Racing1m30.987s1m31.546s