Rins Outclasses Moto2 Opposition at Phillip Island

by Louis Suddaby

Alex Rins has moved into second place in the Moto2 world championship after a dominant victory in the Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island. The Spaniard was in a class of his own, winning by over six seconds from Sam Lowes, while Lorenzo Baldassarri claimed his maiden Grand Prix podium in third place.

All eyes were on the front row of the grid at the start, especially with Axel Pons starting there for the first time in his career, but the AGR rider was a little too keen to get going and was pulled up for a jump start. Although he led briefly around the first lap, the 24 year old was soon crawling through the pitlane to serve his penalty, ending any hopes of a podium finish.

Rins dropped briefly to third on the first lap after Pons’ hasty getaway but the Paginas Amarillas rider quickly regained control by outdragging Lowes on the approach to Doohan corner on the third lap. From that point onwards, he was never under any threat with second being disputed between Lowes and Thomas Luthi.

The Swiss rider edged ahead on lap six and looked to keeping Lowes at bay with relative ease but a costly error at MG on lap seventeen ruled Thomas out of contention, giving Sam a clear path to second place. Jonas Folger was briefly promoted to third but within seconds of inheriting a podium spot, the German was chased down by Baldassarri and when the no.94 Kalex later picked up a puncture, that battle was also settled.

Xavier Simeon took his best result since winning in Germany with fifth while Luis Salom broke the top six for the first time since Catalunya. A strangely subdued Johann Zarco finished seventh ahead of Mika Kallio and Alex Marquez while Randy Krummenacher completed the top ten.



140. Alex Rins KalexPaginas Amarillas HP 4039:00.084
222. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing+6.633
37. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Racing+10.408
430. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+15.536
519. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto2+16.205
639. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+17.241
75. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport+20.456
836. Mika KallioSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+21.883
973. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS+24.473
104. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto2+24.559
1121. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team+35.103
1223. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 3+36.583
133. Simone CorsiKalexForward Racing+36.588
1488. Ricard CardusSuterJPmoto Malaysia+36.642
1512. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten+38.115
1655. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia+47.215
172. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG+47.254
1860. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+47.305
1997. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3+47.382
2016. Joshua HookKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten+47.963
2125. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia+55.273
2257. Edgar PonsKalexItaltrans Racing Team+58.441
2396. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+59.229
2449. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team+1:00.321
2510. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG+1:26.478
NC94. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team+4 Laps
NC11. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP+11 Laps
NC66. Florian AltSuterIodaRacing Team+15 Laps
NC70. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten+16 Laps
NS1. Tito RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDSInjured

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More