Teo Martin Motorsport take over DAMS entry

Teo Martin Motorsport will join the grid in the newly renamed Formula 3.5 V8 Championship in 2016 after taking over the entry vacated by DAMS.

The Spanish team, a frontrunner in the International GT Open championship, have acquired the cars that took Kevin Magnussen and Carlos Sainz Jr to the championship in 2013-14, and which were driven by Nyck de Vries and Dean Stoneman in 2015.

“I am very happy to acquire the DAMS team from the World Series, as it has a very important racing record,” said team owner Teo Martin.

“Also we are very happy to have a team from Madrid fighting for European motorsport championships.”

DAMS announced their withdrawal from the Formula Renault 3.5 Series following the news that Renault was no longer backing the championship after an eleven-year stint, but Jaime Alguersuari Sr, the boss of new sole promoters RPM Racing, has welcomed the addition of Teo Martin’s team in their place.

“It is a pleasure to have the Teo Martin team in our championship,” said Alguersuari Sr. “Its long racing history and the success over the years are the best introduction letter for a team that won’t take a long time to adapt to this news category.

“I share many values with Teo Martin, an excellent sportsman, automotive projects manager and, above all, a huge motorsport fan.”