VARX steamroller powers on in Barbados

by Dominik Wilde

Tanner Foust continued Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross‘ recent domination of Red Bull Global Rallycross, making it two wins from two in Barbados.

The double series champion led home team mate Scott Speed to give Volkswagen their third one-two finish in four races and their second of the weekend.

Behind the Beetles was Nelson Piquet Jr., returning to the podium for the first time since taking victory in Washington DC.

As well as winning both of the weekend’s main events, Foust swept all of his races on Sunday. The Top Gear host won both his Heat and his Semi Final en route to the Final.

Austin Dyne added to his Semi Final win yesterday by taking pole position for the event, as well as victory in the other heat race. Piquet Jr. was victorious in the second Semi Final.

The Brazilian led from lights to flag in his Semi, heading home Speed and Ken Block who made it to the Final by using his joker lap in the dying moments of the race to move up to third.

Advancing to the Final, Block made up for yesterday’s disappointment where he flipped dramatically over the jump in the Last Chance Qualifier.

The Barbados II LCQ saw Brian Deegan, Sebastian Eriksson, Dyne, and Patrik Sandell advance to the final, knocking out Rhys Millen and Sverre Isachsen, who missed out on advancing to the final in his Semi after receiving a stop and go penalty.

After being disqualified yesterday, Sandell’s second event of the weekend wasn’t much better, with mechanical failure in the heat leaving him on the back-foot for most of the weekend.

The final appeared to be what is quickly becoming routine with the VARX pair of Foust and Speed leading from the off. Behind them, Piquet Jr. and 2014 champion Joni Wiman battled it out for the remaining podium position.

Wiman had the advantage until the penultimate lap when he went wide, handing third to Formula E champion Piquet.

Steve Arpin beat Wiman to fourth, with the wounded Patrik Sandell in sixth. Eriksson, Dyne and Deegan rounded out the finishers.

Ken Block was classified tenth after failing to finish the final, completing just five of the eight laps.

With their recent upturn in form, the Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross duo now head into next month’s Las Vegas finale as the only two drivers eligible for the championship.

That means that for the first time since the series’ inception the championship will not go to a driver behind the wheel of an Olsbergs Ford Fiesta.

Foust’s Barbados double moves him back to the top of the all-time wins table with seven, just one ahead of Andretti Volkswagen stable mate Speed.

The title showdown will take place on November 4 at the Linq in Las Vegas.


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More