BRDC Formula 4

Norris secures second dominant victory at Brands Hatch

1 Mins read

A wet second race at Brands Hatch saw Lando Norris once again build a commanding lead to take victory by 10.5 seconds to continue his 100% winning streak in this years BRDC Formula 4 Autumn Trophy.

Norris made a good start and was immediately into the lead as he headed towards the Druids Bend. A blistering first few laps saw him pull out a lead of three seconds after only two laps.

As the race continued, Norris built a lead of nine seconds over second place Ben Barnicoat for the remainder of the race. Norris eventually crossed the line 10.5 seconds ahead of the McLaren Young driver.

As for Barnicoat, he was involved in a race long battle for second with pole-sitter, Harrison Scott. Having crashed out of the first race, Scott was hoping for a clean second, but lost grip while trying to pull away and dropped down to third after the first lap.

Barnicoat, who had started second, was not suited to the wet conditions and struggled to keep pace with Norris, quickly allowing Scott to pressure from behind. The Douglas Motorsport driver stuck behind for a number of laps before making a push in the closing laps.

Having hung on for most of the race, Barnicoat ran wide at Druids, only just hanging on to the position while Scott made a move into Graham Hill bend on the following lap. Nothing came of the move though, meaning Barnicoat closed the championship gap to 11 points.

Sisa Ngebulana had started third, but was unable to keep up in the opening laps. While the South African would eventually lap at the same pace as the leader, the damage had been done and he finished almost twenty seconds behind in fourth.

Rounding out the field once again was Al Faisal Al Zubair, who started where he finished. Like Ngebulana, he was unable to lap at any reasonable pace and only fell back further towards the conclusion, almost being lapped by Norris.

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply