BRDC Formula 4

Barnicoat Defends to Claim Race Two Victory From Scott

1 Mins read

Having started on pole, Ben Barnicoat hung on to claim his first win of the Autumn Trophy after an intense race long battle with Harrison Scott who ended up crossing the line in second.

From pole, Barnicoat lead after sector one, as it became instantly clear that two drivers were breaking away from the pack. The wet conditions meant that it was hard to follow another car directly, making Scott’s race long pressure all the more impressive.

Behind them, fourth placed Sisa Ngebulana made a poor start and was forced to climb his way through the field. However; it proved to be a terrible race for both HHC Motorsport drivers, with Sennan Fielding fall behind in the first sector because of a slippery surface.

After leaving the track at Brundle, the British driver spent the rest of the race in clear air, eventually finishing about 50 minutes down on the leader. The poor result will hamper his championship chances as he looks for consistency.

Further up, Struan Moore, who’d had a shocking first race, finally found the momentum he needed as he looked to consolidate his third place. Ameya Vaidyanathan needed a strong result after his retirement in the first race, with the Indian eventually battling Moore for third.

However; to the fans’ disappointment, Vaidyanathan was not able to truly challenge his teammate who was more likely to compete with the leaders, come the end of the weekend.

Ngebulana had caught up to the Hillspeed cars, but another mistake saw him fall into the clutches of Al Faisal Al Zubair. The South African did eventually win the battle but had lost his chance of collecting his second podium in two races.

The race eventually concluded with a battle for the win as Barnicoat hung on by 0.3 seconds over Scott, who remains the favourite going into tomorrow. Moore would round out the podium in a distant third with Vaidyanathan behind.

Ngebulana settled for fifth ahead of Al Zubair, while Fielding completed a woeful race with dilapidated title chances.

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply