BRDC Formula 4

Barnicoat on Pole as he chases Autumn Trophy at Brands

1 Mins read

With the rain gone from Brands Hatch, strong winds would play havoc to the light monocoques of the BRDC Formula 4 cars for Sunday qualifying. Ben Barnicoat would hang on during an intense qualifying to claim pole by 0.026 seconds.

HHC Motorsport were the only team seen on track in the opening five minutes of the session, this left the track relatively baron as the clock continued to tick down.

With 14 minutes left, Al Faisal Al Zubair headed out of the pits, quickly followed by the rest of the pack. Al Zubair, like the HHC cars before him would return to the pits without setting a time, as to have the car checked over.

Once again it was Harrison Scott who stood out as the pace setter for the start of the session, quickly dropping into the 40 second range around the Brands Hatch Indy circuit. But with the championship at stake, Barnicoat stepped up his game to soon take the lead.

By the half way point, the top four were split by under a second, but improvements from Scott and Lando Norris saw the top three within a tenth of each other.

Norris was the first driver under the 44 second barrier, but was having a hard time staying there as Barnicoat once again lowered the benchmark. Having dropped off temporarily, Sisa Ngebulana soon found his rhythm as he moved up to second, proving he was still in the fight.

With two minutes to go, Barnicoat lead the way as Al Zubair came back out onto the track. This would bunch the field up slightly as Ngebulana struggled for pace in the closing minutes. With Norris only two seconds behind, the race winner was unable to close the gap and settled for second.

This allowed Barnicoat to keep pole position from Norris, Scott and Ngebulana. Al Zubair will line up fifth having only completed two timed laps.

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply