BRDC Formula 4

Barnicoat wins Race Three to set up Title Showdown

1 Mins read

A storming performance from Ben Barnicoat saw him lead from lights to flag, taking the race three victory and moving equal on points with Harrison Scott. The race never saw Barnicoat extend his advantage, instead holding up a three car train.

Having made a good start, the Racing Steps Foundation-backed driver soon edged away from the drivers behind, managing to pull out only a second advantage over his competition in the opening laps around Brands Hatch.

Barnicoat’s lead started to diminish after the seventh lap though, as Lando Norris started to close the gap. The McLaren Young driver soon put in the fastest lap of the race, but was again unable to edge more than a second clear of the HHC Motorsports driver.

By the half way point, Scott started to slip back from the leading two. Instead choosing to build up a gap so he could attempt the fastest lap. It didn’t work and will be forced to start the finale from fourth.

With three laps to go, the fight for the lead intensified, as Scott managed to close on Norris, ensuring that the top three were covered by under a second. It stayed that way across the line as Barnicoat took victory by 0.104 seconds.

The result meant that, Barnicoat was able to close the eleven point advantage to Scott, thus seeing a straight fight for the BRDC Formula 4 Autumn Trophy, going into the final race, where he starts on pole.

Behind the break away top three, Sisa Ngebulana managed to keep within three seconds of Scott for the majority of the race. Unfortunately, he was unable to challenge for the lead, hoping to pick up the pieces, in the event of a crash.

However; it ended up being himself who was forced to recover after running wide at Graham Hill Bend and losing all chance of a podium finish. He will however start the final race from third.

Al Faisal Al Zubair, once again found himself running a lonely race at the back. Having not featured for the majority of the event, he pitted after 18 laps, before returning to the track a few minutes later to cross the line in fifth and four laps down.

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply