BRDC Formula 4

Ben Barnicoat makes last minute entry to Autumn Trophy

1 Mins read

While his competitors have been racing around Snetterton today, Ben Barnicoat has been finalising his deal to join Fortec Motorsport for this season’s BRDC F4 Autumn Trophy. He has so far been confirmed for the first four races, but it’s expected that he’ll also be present in Brands Hatch.

He’s already had an impressive career, claiming the 2014 Formula Renault 2.0 NEC title with two wins. Following on from that success, the 18-year-old was named AUTOSPORT Club Driver of the Year, and this season he’s completed a full campaign in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Championship, finishing fourth overall with three victories.

Barnicoat, who is also a member of the McLaren Young driver programme and the Racing Steps Foundation is considered one of Britain’s brightest talents, yet his lack of experience in the car could be a hindrance going into qualifying tomorrow.

By joining Fortec he’ll be partnering Al Faisal Al Zubair, who was unable to set any times in practice today. The lack of running from either will mean they’ll have no data to go on and will be making the most of their time on the track.

“I’m very happy to be making my BRDC Formula 4 début with Fortec and to help them break into the series in good style. I’ve never raced at Snetterton before but I’m really looking forward to it.” said Barnicoat

While Daniel Mitchell, the Team Manager of Fortec’s BRDC F4 operation, added: “We are over the moon to have Ben driving for Fortec here. He has shown good progress in the new car already and he will be a great team-mate for Faisal too.”

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply