Lando Norris collects Pole on Début around Brands Hatch

A heavily interrupted qualifying session eventually ended with Lando Norris on pole position ahead of the final weekend of the BRDC Formula 4 Autumn Trophy. However; constant drizzle made the cars hard to handle, preventing drivers from showing their full potential.

Ben Barnicoat was the early pace setter, however; soon found himself off at Druids. His beached car brought out the red flags, interrupting many drivers early runs. However; this proved to be more of an issue for the Fortec driver who was unable to return to the circuit.

Having only completed 2 laps, Barnicoat would quickly drop down the order, eventually ending qualifying in fourth place, however will be relieved that his time of 53.889s was enough to stay ahead of Al Faisal Al Zubair, who continued to struggle for pace.

As the session was restarted, it was rookie Norris who took the initiative. Despite having not driven the car before, he’d topped almost all of the Friday practice sessions and was continuing to prove his dominance over the rest of the field.

With only his second timed lap after the red flag, he set a time that Harrison Scott was unable to beat for the remainder of the session. Having improved further, Norris eventually pulled out a gap of 0.8 seconds to claim his first pole position ahead of Scott.

In third was Sisa Ngebulana. Despite being a second slower than Norris, the HHC Motorsports driver was in contention for second place for most of the session before he too brought out the red flag.

With 5 minutes remaining, Ngebulana beached his car in the gravel at Clearways. It mattered not though, as no driver improved in the closing minutes before the chequered flag came out.