Middleton Doubles Up To Cement Winter Series Lead

Stuart Middleton has ended the opening day of the 2015 Ginetta Junior Winter Series in perfect style with his second win in two races at Snetterton.

Charlie Fagg initially jumped the pole-sitter to lead the opening lap, but Middleton assumed the lead at Oggies on lap two and set about replicating his dominance from race one.

Extending his lead to over five seconds by the end of lap four, Middleton’s pace was once again unmatched by his closest pursuers as he took victory by 8.8 seconds.

Behind, Fagg was left to fight for the podium positions with Billy Monger and Will Tregurtha, those two working together in the early stages to pass Harry King and then Connor Grady.

Monger got ahead of Tregurtha briefly on lap four for third, before they switched places back a lap later as they continued to tail Fagg.

It all changed on the final lap when Fagg’s defences faltered, with Tregurtha passing his HHC Motorsport team-mate for second as Monger also got ahead to complete the podium.

Grady and King completed the top six, the latter once again finishing as the clear top rookie, with Sebastian Perez taking seventh ahead of a recovering Dave Wooder.

Wooder and Lewis Brown dropped to seventeenth and nineteenth respectively on lap one, with the former setting the fastest lap of the race on the final tour as he fought back to eighth.

Geri Nicosia and Alex Day completed the top ten ahead of Jordan Dempsey, with Brown only able to climb back to twelfth ahead of Rowan Bailey and James Roe Jnr.

Seb Priaulx and Max Bird were next up, both falling back after running in the top ten at one stage, with Frank Bird, Charlie Digby and Anthony Ayres completing the finishers.

Full race results can be found here.

Provisional 2015 Ginetta Junior Winter Series Standings (After Rd.2 of 4):

1. Stuart Middleton – Douglas Motorsport – 71pts

2. Charlie Fagg – HHC Motorsport – 52pts

3. Connor Grady – Total Control Racing – 46pts

4= Will Tregurtha – HHC Motorsport – 40pts

4= Harry King – Elite Motorsport – 40pts

6. Dave Wooder – Total Control Racing – 35pts

7. Billy Monger – JHR Developments – 34pts

8. Sebastian Perez – JHR Developments – 28pts

9. Lewis Brown – HHC Motorsport – 26pts

10. Alex Day – Tollbar Racing – 25pts