Rabat on Pole for Final Moto2 Appearance

Tito Rabat will start his final Grand Prix in the Moto2 class from pole position after a copybook qualifying performance in Valencia. The 2014 champion has endured an injury-ravaged end to the year but marked his return in sensational style, beating new champion Johann Zarco to pole.

After shining at Sepang, 2014 Valencia winner Thomas Luthi continued his impressive form with a 1:36.002 to kick things off while a 1:35.603 soon afterwards established him as the man to beat. Zarco had shown no signs of the form which saw him beat Luthi In Malaysia but that changed with half an hour left on the clock, Johann lowering the benchmark time to a 1:35.376.

The decisive change came moments later when Rabat’s constant battles with the final sector finally brought reward with the Spaniard clocking a 1:35.334 to grab provisional pole. Zarco did improve himself but that only served to limit the margin between the two champions with Tito gaining a tenth in the latter stages to secure top spot.

Alex Rins snatched third to keep himself firmly in contention for the championship runner-up place with Luthi relegated to fourth, three tenths off pole. Lorenzo Baldassarri will start a superb fifth ahead of Julian Simon and Axel Pons while Takaaki Nakagami lines up eighth, one spot ahead of Simone Corsi.

Sam Lowes rounded out the top ten but the Briton was left ruing what might have been in a qualifying session which started with an unfortunate crash.



PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
11. Tito RabatKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:35.234
25. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport1:35.372
340. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:35.441
412. Thomas LuthiKalexDerendinger Racing Interwetten1:35.532
57. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Racing1:35.694
660. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:35.728
749. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team1:35.752
830. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team Asia1:35.786
93. Simone CorsiKalexForward Racing1:35.896
1022. Sam LowesSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:35.930
1121. Franco MorbidelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:35.935
1239. Luis SalomKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:36.036
1311. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:36.071
1473. Alex MarquezKalexEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS1:36.166
1536. Mika KallioSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:36.226
1690. Lucas MahiasTransfiormersPromoto Sport1:36.284
1788. Ricard CardusSuterJPmoto Malaysia1:36.289
1894. Jonas FolgerKalexAGR Team1:36.360
1966. Florian AltSuterIodaRacing Team1:36.422
204. Randy KrummenacherKalexJIR Moto21:36.427
2123. Marcel SchrotterTech 3Tech 31:36.470
2297. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 31:36.563
2319. Xavier SimeonKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:36.588
2455. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:36.600
2557. Edgar PonsKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:36.741
2670. Robin MulhauserKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:36.912
272. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG1:37.573
2810. Thitipong WarokornKalexAPH PTT The Pizza SAG1:37.658
2932. Federico FuligniSuterCiatti1:37.835
3016. Joshua HookKalexTechnomag Racing Interwetten1:38.208
3125. Azlan ShahKalexIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaNo Time
3296. Louis RossiTech 3Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2No Time