Rabat Signs Off with Valencia Moto2 Win

1 Mins read

Tito Rabat marked his final race in the intermediate class before moving up to MotoGP in fine style with a lights-to-flag victory at Valencia. The 2014 champion was faultless despite race-long pressure from Alex Rins who secured the runner-up spot in the championship with second place.

Rabat made a superb getaway initially to lead Johann Zarco around the first corner but the next time he arrived there, the red flags were there to greet him. A mistake from Hafizh Syahrin at turn two on the opening lap had sent him straight into Franco Morbidelli’s Italtrans Kalex while several other riders were skittled out in the process. With riders requiring treatment and machines to clear away, race direction were left with no option but to stop the race.

After a 20 minute delay, racing restarted over 18 laps with Rabat producing a carbon copy of his original start. Zarco botched his second launch though and fell to sixth with Thomas Luthi leading the chase of Rabat up front. The Swiss rider was soon shuffled back to third on lap three with Rins easing through at turn eight and from there, the fight for victory was very much a two-horse race.

Rins kept his compatriot honest for lap-after-lap but despite his best efforts, Tito would always keep him at arm’s length and a third victory of 2015 was his reward. Rins earned his own reward, with P2 enough to ensure he would pip Rabat to second in the world championship, something only Marc Marquez has been able to do before as a Moto2 rookie.

Lorenzo Baldassarri was an exceptional fourth ahead of Sam Lowes who secured fourth overall with fifth this afternoon. Luis Salom saw off a subdued Johann Zarco for sixth while Axel Pons, Simone Corsi and Mika Kallio rounded out the top ten.



[table id=764 /]

Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Sam Lowes - Every day I feel stronger

2 Mins read
Marc VDS rider Sam Lowes gives the lowdown on his current day-to-day life as he recovers from his shoulder injury under lockdown from Coronavirus.

Leave a Reply