Double R Racing fill out the 2016 BRDC Formula 4 Grid

After their success in European Formula 3 and MSA Formula, notable single-seater outfit Double R Racing have announced their intention to race in the BRDC Formula 4 Championship having bought three cars for the upcoming season.

Having originally been co-founded by Kimi Raikkonen and brought success to Mike Conway in British F3, the team has a rich heritage. It was later taken over by Anthony ‘Boyo’ Hieatt in November 2010, leading to the name change.

Hieatt, Team Principal of Double R Racing, said: “We’re delighted to join BRDC F4 in readiness for next season and will be running three cars in our first year. Drivers are raving about the new car and they’re right to – it’s fast, very good from an engineering and team perspective to work with and also pretty close to F3, which is obviously perfect for drivers looking to progress up the ladder.

“The calendar looks good, we always love racing at tracks like Oulton Park and Silverstone and it’s good for the drivers to have a circuit like Spa on there too. It’ll be a good challenge coming up against teams we haven’t raced against before, and also continuing the friendly rivalry we’ve had over many years in F3 with the likes of Fortec [Motorsports] and Carlin. We can’t wait to get going.”

Carlin later released a Tweet to acknowledge Double R’s entry, in which they said; “@DoubleRRacingGB @BRDCF4 Looking forward to racing with you again in 2016 @AnthonyHieatt!!”

Jonathan Palmer, MSV Chief Executive and BRDC Formula 4 Series Director, commented: “The announcement that Double R has committed to join BRDC F4, with the purchase of three cars, is further endorsement of our decision to reposition the championship as the perfect stepping stone between FIA F4 and F3 … I’m delighted to add another to our list of prestigious teams.”

“Their participation also means that all 26 Tatuus-Cosworth cars have now been allocated ahead of the 2016 season and we are looking forward to one of the strongest and most competitive years of racing in the championship’s history.”