BRDC Formula 4

Matheus Leist sticks with Double R for new campaign in BRDC F4

1 Mins read

Just a few days after announcing their entry into BRDC Formula 4, Double R Racing have announced their first driver as they bring over Matheus Leist from their MSA Formula team. The Brazilian thus becomes the second driver to be confirmed for the new season after Lando Norris.

Leist has proven himself in recent years having finished as runner up in the Brazilian Formula 3 Light championship in 2014 before progressing to MSA Formula, where he picked up seven podiums including two race wins.

He said: “It’s really great to be staying with the guys at Double R for the move up to BRDC F4 and I’m really looking forward to racing the new car. We had a strong season this year in MSA Formula and I know we can do the same again next year in the BRDC series.”

Shortly before the end of his MSA campaign, Leist tested the new Tatuus-Cosworth leading many to assume he might consider a future in the series having finished fifth in MSA Formula.

“The car is a big step on from the car I raced this year, it’s very quick and has a lot of grip from the aero – I’m really impressed by it. Hopefully we can have some strong preparation over the winter and push for wins and the championship. I know Double R will give me a great car.”

Anthony ‘Boyo’ Hieatt, Team Principal of Double R Racing, added: “We’re absolutely thrilled Matheus is staying with us for the move into BRDC F4 and I’m confident he can be a realistic contender for the first championship with the new Tatuus. It’s an exciting time for the team and with a good testing programme between now and the start of the 2016 season, I’m sure Matheus will be more than ready for the challenge.”

On top of his MSA Formula duties, Leist also competed in a few races in the FIA European Formula 3 Championship and the MRF Challenge this year.

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply