BRDC Formula 4

Colton Herta stays with Carlin as he moves to BRDC F4

1 Mins read

Young American Colton Herta has announced that he will stay with the Carlin outfit for 2016 with the fifteen-year-old moving across to the BRDC Formula 4 championship, seeing him partnered with Lando Norris for the second year in a row.

Herta, son of the IndyCar driver Bryan Herta, made his British racing début in 2015 as he joined the inaugural MSA Formula season. Despite being the youngest driver on the grid, he went on to collect four wins over the course of the season, with his performance steadily improving over the year, finishing the year third overall.

Before his move to the UK, Herta competed in a number of races in his native United States, collecting a pair of fifth places in the USF2000 series as well as a stint in USF1600. He’ll turn 16, the minimum age, a week before the start of the season, replicating 2015.

“Last year was a great start to my European racing career. With Carlin, I was able to learn a lot and finish the season very strong. I look forward to carrying that momentum into the new season in BRDC F4.” said Herta.

Trevor Carlin, Team Principal of Carlin, added: “I’m so pleased that Colton stays with us for another season. The progress he made on every level in 2015 was very impressive and by the end of the year he was one of the most consistent drivers in the field. He’s a great asset to the team and we have no doubt he will be a front-runner in 2016.”

The season starts at Snetterton, the site of his first win on the weekend of March 28. Norris and Ameya Vaidyanathan have already been announced and will round out the Carlin line up.

Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4British F3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.

Leave a Reply