BRDC Formula 4

Australian F4 runner-up Randle to race BRDC F4 in 2016

1 Mins read

After a successful 2015 in which he challenged for the Australian Formula 4 title, Thomas Randle moves to the United Kingdom to compete in the BRDC Formula 4 championship. The 19 year old joins the Douglas Motorsport team, becoming their first signing.

Randle also becomes the first Australian driver to compete in the championship in the three years it’s been running. During his time in Australian F4, he took seven victories, including two dominant weekends, but was unable to beat eventual champion Jordan Lloyd who wrapped up the title with a round to spare.

The rivalry between himself and Lloyd stretched further back, with Randle beating him to the Australian Formula Ford title the year previous. Randle had made his single seater début in the series the year before, finishing seventh overall, a point behind Lloyd.

Speaking about his move, Randle said: “I am absolutely thrilled to be teaming up with Douglas Motorsport for the 2016 BRDC Formula 4 Championship. The new Tatuus car with Cosworth engine for 2016 looks very quick and having seen Douglas’ results in the Autumn Trophy, I have the confidence that we can be quite strong in our championship assault.

Douglas Motorsport had proven their success in the 2015 Autumn Trophy as they took the title fight to the end with Harrison Scott. Unfortunately a poor final race would see Scott miss out by 14 points.

Wayne Douglas, Team Principal of Douglas Motorsport, added: “We are delighted to welcome Thomas to our team for 2016 and we are looking forward to working with him throughout the year. I have been very impressed with his performances back in his native country and I am confident that he can translate that across to racing in Europe. With a strong pre-season testing programme, we are sure he will hit the ground running and hopefully be able to challenge for wins as the season progresses.”

The BRDC F4 season fires up at Snetterton on March 27 and 28.

Credit: Nick Smith /
1347 posts

About author
Single-Seater Specialist who worked for TCF from 2015-19. Come finding me wandering the paddock.
Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4GB3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.