BRDC Formula 4

ITV to continue prime time coverage of BRDC F4

1 Mins read
Credit: BRDC Formula 4

The BRDC Formula 4 Championship has announced that it will remain on ITV‘s highlight package for the fourth year in succession, with ITV4 scheduled to show a one-hour highlight programme of all three races for the eight rounds of the season.

ITV4 has a history with British motorsport, as it currently headlines the British Touring Car Championship and subsequently, F4’s rival series, MSA Formula.

Once aired on the ITV network, the highlights show will be accessible to view online and on mobile devices via the ITV Hub, with up to 10.6 million tuning into ITV4. These programmes will feature highlights of every race weekend’s three races, as well as the pre-race build-up, podium celebrations, post-race interviews, and behind-the-scenes features on the drivers.

Niall Sloane, ITV’s Director of Sport, commented: “The continuation of our deal to screen BRDC Formula 4 is excellent news, with the championship being an important part of our motorsport offering. BRDC F4 is set for another exciting season and we are looking forward to showcasing the stars of the future on ITV4.”

While Jonathan Palmer, Chief Executive of BRDC Formula 4 promoter MSV, added: “I am delighted that BRDC F4’s partnership with ITV4 has been extended once again for 2016, and that we will continue to enjoy a prime-time Sunday evening slot for our highlights show.”

“Our new 2016 BRDC F4 will be as quick and competitive as the heyday of British F3 with many outstanding drivers run by some great teams, so the racing will be fantastic to watch.  And amongst the winners are certainly going to be some future F1 stars in the making.”

So far, there has been no news on whether the series will continue to show race 3 live on Motors TV as it did for the 2015 season.

Credit: Nick Smith /
1347 posts

About author
Single-Seater Specialist who worked for TCF from 2015-19. Come finding me wandering the paddock.
Related posts
BRDC Formula 4EuroFormula Open

British Formula 4 Champion Maloney Makes EuroFormula Open Switch with Carlin

1 Mins read
Zane Maloney, the reigning British F4 champion, will switch to EuroFormula Open in 2020 with the team that took him to the title in 2019, Carlin.
BRDC Formula 4Japanese Formula 3W Series

Finalists Announced for 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award

2 Mins read
Enaam Ahmed, Jamie Chadwick, Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons will all vie for the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.
BRDC Formula 4GB3

British Formula 3 championship returns in 2016

1 Mins read
The BRDC F4 championship has been re-branded as the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship ahead of the 2016 season.