Sykes Leads Kawasaki 1-2 at Phillip Island Test

Tom Sykes ended the Phillip Island WSBK test with the fastest time as preparations for the 2016 season came to a close. The Briton led a Kawasaki 1-2 but with four different riders topping the four sessions at the test, this weekend’s season opener looks set to have several potential challengers for victory.

Sykes’ benchmark time was set on Monday afternoon with Jonathan Rea topping Tuesday’s morning session to secure second spot ahead of Ducati’s Davide Giugliano. Michael van der Mark set an impressive pace on the opening morning before dropping to fourth while Sylvain Guintoli was fifth overall after topping the final session aboard the PATA Yamaha YZF-R1 in scorching temperatures.

Much like the final day of the recent MotoGP test here, crashes regularly interrupted proceedings with many having ramifications for this weekend’s double-header. Karel Abraham was lucky to escape a heavy fall from his Milwaukee BMW on day one but fellow rookie Fabio Menghi’s crash saw the Italian suffer a fractured pelvis, ruling him out of the upcoming weekend. Josh Hook’s participation also appears in doubt after dislocating his shoulder in a crash at the Southern Loop.

Despite wounding his elbow in a fall, Jordi Torres soldiered on to finish sixth ahead of 2006 MotoGP champion Nicky Hayden while Alex Lowes was eighth fastest on the second PATA Yamaha. Last year’s WSBK runner-up Chaz Davies was tenth overall while reigning British Superbike champion Josh Brookes ended the test 1.617s down in fifteenth.


Phillip Island WSBK Official Test – Combined Classification

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
166. Tom SykesKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team1:31.097
21. Jonathan ReaKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team1:31.249
334. Davide Racing – Ducati1:31.400
460. Michael van der MarkHondaHonda World Superbike Team1:31.458
550. Sylvain GuintoliYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team1:31.473
681. Jordi TorresBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team1:31.526
769. Nicky HaydenHondaHonda World Superbike Team1:31.558
822. Alex LowesYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team1:31.620
912. Xavi ForesDucatiBarni Racing Team1:31.661
107. Chaz Racing – Ducati1:31.678
1121. Markus ReiterbergerBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team1:31.928
1240. Roman RamosKawasakiTeam GoEleven1:32.478
1332. Lorenzo SavadoriApriliaIodaRacing Team1:32.587
142. Leon CamierMV AgustaMV Agusta Reparto Corse1:32.702
1525. Josh BrookesBMWMilwaukee BMW1:32.714
1646. Mike JonesDucatiDesmo Sport Ducati1:33.051
1720. Sylvain BarrierKawasakiPedercini Racing1:33.147
1861. Fabio MenghiDucatiVFT Racing1:33.251
1915. Alex de AngelisApriliaIodaRacing Team1:33.323
2016. Joshua HookKawasakiGrillini Racing Team1:33.792
219. Dominic SchmitterKawasakiGrillini Racing Team1:34.664
2217. Karel AbrahamBMWMilwaukee BMW1:34.706
2311. Saeed Al SulaitiKawasakiPedercini Racing1:34.942
2456. Peter SebestyenYamahaTeam Toth1:35.541
2510. Imre TothYamahaTeam Toth1:36.150