Collard ends fastest on Snetterton Test Day

Ricky Collard ended the Snetterton test on top with a time that was over a second quicker than all but one of his opposition. The British GT / BRDC Formula 4 media day was an opportunity for the drivers to show off their skills in front of the public, with four teams taking to the track.

After an incredible opening session, in which he was 1.008 faster than anyone, Collard continued his domination in the early part of the session, once again setting a lap time over a second faster than the opposition.

However the Carlin driver wasn’t going to have it all his own way as Toby Sowery set the fastest lap with under 15 minutes remaining. He managed to hold on for a few minutes before Collard once again lowered the benchmark. Not to be outdone though, the former MSV F3 Cup winner set a time that would see him end the session on top.

The second test of the day was interrupted with a red flag, but the drivers saw minimal effect as they came in to the pits for a brief discussion with their engineers. Behind the battling Sowery and Collard, Quinlan Lall continued his good run of results by setting a 1:42.825s.

The third and final session of the day saw minimal action as the SWR cars had the track to themselves for the opening few minutes. Eugene Denyssen was cautioned for not obeying track limits but kept his time at the top of the standings as the others improved, being pushed back later on.

Sowery soon took the lead, but no-one was able to beat the time that Collard had achieved in the morning as the track cooled down. Collard himself only got up to speed in the final session in the dying minutes. He finished 0.710 seconds ahead of second place.

Meanwhile, Krishnaraaj Mahadik sat out, leaving the seven of them to battle it out with Akhil Rabindra even taking his time on top before being punted back. Collard finally ended the session with a 1:42.326s.

Snetterton Test Day: Overall Times

111Ricky CollardGBRCarlin1:41.615
28Toby SoweryGBRLanan Racing1:42.0860.471
32Quinlan LallUSAChris Dittmann1:42.6661.0510.580
422Akhil RabindraINDLanan Racing1:43.0721.4570.406
544Eugene DenyssenRSASWR1:43.5501.9350.478
621Jan JonckDENSWR1:43.6872.0720.137
723Thomas MaxwellAUSSWR1:44.0432.5280.356
86Krishnaraaj MahadikINDChris Dittmann1:44.1812.6660.138