Danish teen Jan Jønck joins SWR for BRDC F4 campaign

by Connor Jackson

After a season in ADAC Formula 4, Danish driver Jan Jønck has joined the Sean Walkinshaw Racing team for the 2016 BRDC Formula 4 Championship. After Eugene Denyssen, he becomes the teams second driver to be announced with one spot still to fill.

A disappointing 2015 season saw him fail to score a single point over the ADAC Formula 4 season, with Jønck even failing to qualify for two rounds at the Red Bull Ring. Despite this, Jønck has not been without success after an incredible drive at the Lauzitzring saw him climb from 29th to a season best result of 12th in a highly competitive field.

To add, he finished as Vice-Champion in Formula Ford Denmark with seven wins and a total of 15 podiums from 21 races contested. Success came easily to the seventeen year old two years ago, with Jønck also achieving two pole positions and setting fastest lap on four occasions.

“I’m really looking forward to racing in the BRDC Formula 4 Championship this year”, said the Dane, “The car is really fast with the great aerodynamics and amazing power from the Cosworth engine, it’s a joy to drive. 

“I think this will be a great stepping stone and learning experience for me, and I’m sure we will be competitive. But the learning curve is big so, for now, it’s heads down so we can make as much progress as possible before the first race weekend at Snetterton.”

Meanwhile team boss Sean Walkinshaw commented on the drivers singing; “We’re really pleased Jan is joining Eugene in the team this year, he’s a young driver with a lot of potential and has obviously achieved some good results in Formula Ford”

“The step up from ADAC Formula 4 into BRDC F4 is a notable one, we’ve got more power and much more grip with the BRDC car, but we’re sure Jan is going to make significant progress during the season.”

The new season starts during the Easter weekend on Sunday March 27 and Monday March 28.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More