MSA Formula Rookie champion Ahmed joins BRDC F4

After a strong end to 2015, British driver Enaam Ahmed has announced his intention to race in the BRDC Formula 4 championship. The 16 year old will complete the Douglas Motorsport line up, who have only planned to run two cars this season.

He was first thrust into the line light in 2014 as he won the CIK-World and European Karting Championship, becoming the youngest driver to do so. After a shaky start to the year, Ahmed soon found his feet in MSA Formula and throughout 2015, improved as a driver to take the rookie title, even picking up one overall race win.

During the winter Ahmed also picked up Koiranen GP’s Winter Challenge trophy after already collecting the Joe Tandy Memorial Trophy.

However; with a new season approaching, Enaam wanted a new challenge. “We have had a couple of tests with different teams, and I really like the team operate” said Ahmed. “I’m over the moon to have finally signed a deal with such a great team. I have got to thank the Edge Management team as they really have worked hard to make this happen for me. Its so fast and has more aero than other existing F4 cars, and it seems to suit my driving style more.”

After an initial test in the new car, he commented, saying; “The car is so quick, especially around Silverstone. It is such a long track and in slower cars like the MSA Formula it can be a bit boring but with the downforce and the power of the Tatuus-Cosworth, it is absolutely incredible,”

Meanwhile, new team boss, Wayne Douglas, commented, “We are delighted to have signed Enaam. We tested him a couple of weeks ago at Donington, and he immediately impressed us. His maturity, professional approach, and outstanding pace shone through. I think the driver pairing we have managed to sign may see a few upsets throughout the season, and I can’t wait to start the racing!”

After a strong title run in BRDC F4’s Autumn Trophy, Douglas have decided to field a strong line up for this years championship, having also signed Australian Formula 4 runner up, Thomas Randle.