Davies Completes Aragon Double to Close Gap

by Louis Suddaby

Chaz Davies closed the gap on World Superbike Championship leader Jonathan Rea to 26 points with another crushing victory in race two at Motorland Aragon. The Welshman was even more dominant than he had been in race one, leaving the Kawasaki teammates to battle between themselves for second with Tom Sykes prevailing this time.

Much like in race one, Davies had a pair of Yamahas between himself and polesitter Sykes but both YZF-R1’s were overhauled before the first corner with Sylvain Guintoli and Alex Lowes plummeting down the order for the second day in a row. Rea also leapfrogged the PATA machines to take second behind Sykes but Davies wouldn’t wait long before passing the world champion, diving past at turn twelve on the opening lap.

There was a sense of inevitability about Davies taking the lead and sure enough, Chaz eased through at the end of lap two before romping into the distance. The focus instead switched to the fight for second with Sykes intent on reversing the race one order between the two but that looked unlikely when Rea slipstreamed past on lap ten. Late-race pressure paid off for the Yorkshireman though with Rea overshooting the first corner with four to go, handing him second spot.

24 hours after finishing a career-best fourth in race one, Xavi Fores matched it in race two with Jordi Torres completing a good day for the Spaniards on home soil, beating Davide Giugliano to fifth. Michael van der Mark was seventh on a disappointing afternoon for Honda, Nicky Hayden failing to finish, while Alex de Angelis relegated the Yamahas of Lowes and Guintoli to ninth and tenth.


WorldSBK 2016: Pirelli Aragon Round – Race Two Result

17. Chaz DaviesDucatiAruba.it Racing – Ducati33:36.60625
266. Tom SykesKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+6.47120
31. Jonathan ReaKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+9.16116
412. Xavi ForesDucatiBarni Racing Team+11.43613
581. Jordi TorresBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+15.96911
634. Davide GiuglianoDucatiAruba.it Racing – Ducati+18.27810
760. Michael van der MarkHondaHonda World Superbike Team+20.9319
815. Alex de AngelisApriliaIodaRacing Team+24.7908
922. Alex LowesYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+25.2467
1050. Sylvain GuintoliYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+25.5486
1132. Lorenzo SavadoriApriliaIodaRacing Team+27.6755
1240. Roman RamosKawasakiTeam GoEleven+29.3644
1325. Josh BrookesBMWMilwaukee BMW+31.7493
1417. Karel AbrahamBMWMilwaukee BMW+34.3142
1521. Markus ReiterbergerBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+34.3331
162. Leon CamierMV AgustaMV Agusta Reparto Corse+34.777
17151. Matteo BaioccoDucatiVFT Racing+41.449
1894. Matthieu LussianaBMWTeam ASPI+1:16.542
199. Dominic SchmitterKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+1:22.960
2056. Peter SebestyenYamahaTeam Toth+1:25.830
2111. Saeed Al SulaitiKawasakiPedercini Racing+1:28.363
2210. Imre TothYamahaTeam Toth+1 Lap
NC69. Nicky HaydenHondaHonda World Superbike Team+3 Laps
NC16. Josh HookKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+6 Laps
NC20. Sylvain BarrierKawasakiPedercini Racing+17 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More