GP3 Series

Jörg fastest as the new season looms

2 Mins read
2016 Barcelona Testing. Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain. Wednesday 20th April. Kevin Joerg (SUI, Dams). Action. Photo: Alastair Staley/GP3 Series Media Service. ref: Digital Image 585A6375

The last day of testing before the start of the seventh GP3 Series saw DAMS driver Kevin Jörg take the overall quickest time of the day in the afternoon session. Charles Leclerc, claimed the top spot in the very wet morning session.

After being greeted by heavy rain many teams decided to work on their wet set ups in preparation of the opening round of the season, which takes place in just three weeks time at the same track.

As the session got going it was the ART Grand Prix quartet and the DAMS trio who seemed the most determined to get laps under their belt, with Leclerc setting the early pace.

There was an early appearance for the red flag, which was brought out as a result of Oscar Tunjo spinning at Turn 1. Meanwhile, the rain began to hammer down with growing intensity with many drivers opting to remain in their garages.

A handful of drivers decided to venture out on track in the final hour, with Alexander Albon initially demoting Leclerc to P2 – but the Monegasque driver retaliated and was back in P1 by 1.7s.

Rookie Nyck de Vries made a visit to the gravel bed at Turn 5 during this period, prior to this occurring Albon jumped up into second place.

Jörg and Konstantin Tereshchenko found some extra pace to move into P2 and P3 before the session was brought to an end when Jake Hughes had an excursion at Turn 5.

As the one hour lunch break was called Leclerc led the timings in front of: Jörg, Tereshchenko, Albon, Jack AitkenNirei FukuzumiSantino Ferrucci, de Vries, Akash Nandy and Richard Gonda.

When the running restarted following the break, the rain had finally stopped and blue skies were making an appearance.

Midway through the session the drivers had switched onto the slick compound tyres as the track dried out, Ferrucci was leading but was soon bettered by Gonda and Tunjo.

Matthew Parry was the first to dip into the 1m36s but was ultimately bettered by Antonio Fuoco and Fukuzumi. With 25 minutes left on the clock Jörg broke into the 1m35s with his teammate Hughes and Trident driver Fuoco being the only drivers to join him in doing so.

The day ended with the DAMS duo of Jörg and Hughes on top followed by: Fuoco, Alex Palou, Leclerc, Artur Janosz, Albon, Fukuzumi, Ralph Boschung and Tunjo.

Koiranen GP‘s Mahaveer Raghunathan was still unfit to participate in the day’s running.

The next time the GP3 drivers’ will take to track will be May 13-15 for the opening round of the season.

Barcelona Pre-Season Test Morning Session

[table id=989 /]

Barcelona Pre-Season Test Afternoon Session

[table id=990 /]

662 posts

About author
An NCTJ accredited Journalism Graduate covering DTM and the FIA Formula 3 Championship.
Related posts
GP3 SeriesPorsche Carrera Cup Australia

Joey Mawson set for guest entry for Porsche Carrera Cup Australia

1 Mins read
Upcoming single-seater racer explores sports car options in F1 supporting Porsche Carrera Cup race.
GP3 Series

Giuliano Alesi: "Sometime it Went Good, Sometimes Bad, But I Always Learned From Them"

2 Mins read
Giuliano Alesi looks back on his 2018 GP3 Series, as he prepares for a Formula 2 test this week.
GP3 Series

Ilott Claims Third in GP3 Standings

2 Mins read
Callum Ilott rounds off a strong rookie season in the GP3 Series with third in the championship.