Power leads close field in final Alabama practice

Will Power finished fastest in final practice ahead of this afternoon’s qualifying session at Barber Motorsports Park, the venue of the fourth round of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season.

The Australian took his Team Penske machine to the top with a time of 1m07.0198s as the top twenty, out of a field of twenty-one cars, were within one second of each other.

Power ended the session 0.0975s ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon, while James Hinchcliffe was a further 0.0152s back in third for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

Carlos Munoz was an encouraging fourth for Andretti Autosport, but his respective team-mates Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti and Alexander Rossi were all outside the top ten.

Championship leader Simon Pagenaud was fifth for Team Penske ahead of KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais, while another Penske driver, Juan Pablo Montoya, was seventh.

Mikhail Aleshin made it two Schmidt cars inside the top eight, while single car teams Ed Carpenter Racing and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing completed the top ten, Josef Newgarden ahead of Graham Rahal.

There were two red flags during the session, with both Max Chilton and Takuma Sato finding themselves in the gravel trap for Chip Ganassi Racing and AJ Foyt Racing respectively.

Barber Motorsports Park Free Practice 3 Times

112Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1m07.0198s
29Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1m07.1173s
35James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m07.1325s
426Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1m07.1795s
522Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1m07.2819s
611Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1m07.3505s
72Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1m07.3516s
87Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m07.3553s
921Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1m07.3844s
1015Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1m07.3957s
1141Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1m07.4927s
123Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1m07.5002s
1314Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1m07.5687s
148Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1m07.5735s
1528Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1m07.6207s
1683Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1m07.7161s
1710Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1m07.7374s
1827Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1m07.8589s
1998Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Herta Autosport1m07.9026s
2018Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1m07.9675s
2119Luca FilippiITADale Coyne Racing1m08.4882s