Rins Holds on to Austin Moto2 Pole Position

Alex Rins dominated the qualifying session at the Circuit of the Americas to claim his first pole position of the 2016 season. The Spaniard was the fastest rider throughout a session that was overshadowed by a late crash for Efren Vazquez which brought out the red flags, the rookie suffering a suspected head trauma in an accident at turn seven.

The identity of the polesitter was in little doubt from the moment Rins took provisional pole five minutes in, the Pons rider clocking a 2:09.618 on his very first attempt of the afternoon. Within two laps, Alex had improved to a 2:08.850, the fastest ever Moto2 lap of COTA, and only Sam Lowes appeared to have any answer for his pace.

The Briton trailed by a quarter of a second but enjoyed a comfortable advantage over the rest of the field prior to the red flag. That all changed following the resumption with Johann Zarco, Dominique Aegerter and Thomas Luthi all circulating together, towing each other up the grid. Aegerter was the first to make progress, jumping up to third, but a last-gasp flyer from Zarco saw the defending champion snatch second, 0.034s ahead of Lowes. Aegerter fell to fourth while the championship leader took fifth on a 2:09.171.

Takaaki Nakagami jumped up to sixth with his final lap of the session while Jonas Folger missed out on the front row for the first time this season, qualifying down in seventh. Simone Corsi will start eighth for Speed Up with Franco Morbidelli and Sandro Cortese rounding out the top ten.


Moto2 Red Bull Grand Prix of the Americas (Qualifying Classification)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
140. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 402:08.850
25. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport2:09.066
322. Sam LowesKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto22:09.100
477. Dominique AegerterKalexCarXpert Interwetten2:09.163
512. Thomas LuthiKalexGarage Plus Interwetten2:09.171
630. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia2:09.206
794. Jonas FolgerKalexDynavolt Intact GP2:09.226
824. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up2:09.421
921. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS2:09.910
1011. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP2:09.940
1160. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team2:09.999
127. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team2:10.012
1323. Marcel SchrotterKalexAGR Team2:10.039
1439. Luis SalomKalexSAG Team2:10.103
1549. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team2:10.236
1652. Danny KentKalexLeopard Racing2:10.274
1755. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia2:10.292
1819. Xavier SimeonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team2:10.299
1954. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team2:10.375
2044. Miguel OliveiraKalexLeopard Racing2:10.405
2173. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS2:10.418
2210. Luca MariniKalexForward Team2:10.453
2397. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing2:10.705
2414. Ratthapark WilairotKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia2:10.734
2532. Isaac VinalesTech 3Tech 3 Racing2:11.297
262. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG2:11.539
2770. Robin MulhauserKalexCarXpert Interwetten2:12.202
2833. Alessandro TonucciKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto22:12.801
298. Efren VazquezSuterJPMoto Malaysia2:12.962