Rins Wins at COTA as Lowes Takes Championship Lead

Alex Rins converted pole position into victory at the Circuit of the Americas after seeing off the challenge of Sam Lowes. The pair were closely matched throughout but Rins prevailed to close to within a point of the Briton who now leads the championship after Thomas Luthi could only manage seventh.

Rins led away from pole position but a slow getaway left Lowes with work to do with the Briton falling to fourth. Some typically aggressive overtaking saw Sam repair the damage on lap two with Dominique Aegerter losing third courtesy of a brave move at turn five while Johann Zarco was overhauled at the end of the back straight.

The gap at the front had already opened up beyond a second but Lowes smashed the lap record to bring himself back into play, just half a second behind the Spaniard. Try as he might though, the Gresini rider was unable to launch a genuine attack on the Paginas Amarillas Kalex and the classy Rins held on for his third Moto2 win.

With the top in a class of their own, the battle for third provided much of the afternoon’s entertainment with Zarco coming under pressure from a queue of riders. Thomas Luthi looked to have stolen a march over the Frenchman but the Interwetten rider faded badly in the closing stages, relinquishing third to Johann five laps from home. A collision between Simone Corsi and Takaaki Nakagami at turn one a lap later would create a split in the group, giving Zarco just enough breathing space to secure the final rostrum position.

Aegerter came on strong in the final three laps to take fourth ahead of Jonas Folger while Corsi slipped to sixth after his incident at the top of the hill. Luthi’s lack of late-race pace dropped him all the way to seventh ahead of the QMMF Speed Ups of Xavier Simeon and Julian Simon but Nakagami fell even further after his clash with Corsi, leaving him with the final point for fifteenth.


Moto2 Red Bull Grand Prix of the Americas (Race Result)

140. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 4041:22.17425
222. Sam LowesKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto2+2.09120
35. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport+7.73716
477. Dominique AegerterKalexCarXpert Interwetten+8.64613
594. Jonas FolgerKalexDynavolt Intact GP+8.79111
624. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up+11.08310
712. Thomas LuthiKalexGarage Plus Interwetten+11.2789
819. Xavier SimeonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+17.9338
960. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+18.7187
1023. Marcel SchrotterKalexAGR Team+19.4086
1173. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS+22.1735
1211. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP+23.8984
1339. Luis SalomKalexSAG Team+25.3953
1421. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS+26.8832
1530. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+27.5981
1655. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia+29.341
1754. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team+30.197
1832. Isaac VinalesTech 3Tech 3 Racing+36.863
1914. Ratthapark WilairotKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+38.383
2097. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing+38.437
212. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG+45.206
2249. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team+47.688
237. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team+53.873
2433. Alessandro TonucciKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+1:11.159
NC44. Miguel OliveiraKalexLeopard Racing+8 Laps
NC52. Danny KentKalexLeopard Racing+14 Laps
NC70. Robin MulhauserKalexCarXpert Interwetten+16 Laps
NC10. Luca MariniKalexForward Team+16 Laps
NS8. Efren VazquezSuterJPMoto MalaysiaInjured