Stunning Lap Record gives Pagenaud Barber pole

Simon Pagenaud set a blistering pace to secure pole position for this weekends Verizon IndyCar Series round at Barber Motorsports Park.

The championship-leading Team Penske driver took a new lap record of the Alabama track of 1m06.7262s to deny team-mate Will Power another series pole position by 0.2159s, and it also gave Pagenaud an additional point in the championship.

Chevrolet power once again was the dominating force in qualifying, with five of the top six using Chevy power, with only sixth placed Graham Rahal making it through for Honda into the Fast Six shootout, which from this weekend has been reduced to six minutes in length.

Behind the Penske duo up front will be Josef Newgarden, who once again showed his potential as a great up-and-coming American racer with third for Ed Carpenter Racing, while Scott Dixon was fourth for Chip Ganassi Racing ahead of Sebastien Bourdais of KVSH Racing and Rahal of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

Helio Castroneves just missed out on making it through to the Fast Six shootout, and will start seventh for Team Penske alongside Schmidt Peterson MotorsportsJames Hinchcliffe, while row five will see the Chip Ganassi Racing duo of Tony Kanaan and Charlie Kimball.

Max Chilton made it all four Ganassi cars inside the top eleven, while Luca Filippi was twelfth for Dale Coyne Racing.

Once again the Andretti Autosport quartet struggled, with none of the team’s drivers making it through into the second phase of qualifying, with Carlos Munoz the highest qualifier in fifteenth.

It was an even more disappointing session for Juan Pablo Montoya, who appeared to struggle and ultimately ended up qualifying at the back of the field in the fourth of the Penske entries.

Barber Motorsports Park Qualifying Result

122Simon PagenaudFRATeam Penske1m06.7262s
212Will PowerAUSTeam Penske1m06.9421s
321Josef NewgardenUSAEd Carpenter Racing1m07.0283s
49Scott DixonNZLChip Ganassi Racing1m07.2083s
511Sebastien BourdaisFRAKVSH Racing1m07.2965s
615Graham RahalUSARahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1m07.6388s
- - Eliminated in Q2- - -
73Helio CastronevesBRZTeam Penske1m07.0129s
85James HinchcliffeCANSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m07.0955s
910Tony KanaanBRZChip Ganassi Racing1m07.1715s
1083Charlie KimballUSAChip Ganassi Racing1m07.3020s
118Max ChiltonGBRChip Ganassi Racing1m08.0728s
1219Luca FilippiITADale Coyne Racing1m08.3655s
- - Eliminated in Q1- - -
137Mikhail AleshinRUSSchmidt Peterson Motorsports1m07.2417s
1441Jack HawksworthGBRAJ Foyt Enterprises1m07.2360s
1526Carlos MunozCOLAndretti Autosport1m07.2435s
1614Takuma SatoJAPAJ Foyt Enterprises1m07.2385s
1718Conor DalyUSADale Coyne Racing1m07.2974s
1828Ryan Hunter-ReayUSAAndretti Autosport1m07.4449s
1927Marco AndrettiUSAAndretti Autosport1m07.6570s
2098Alexander RossiUSAAndretti Autosport1m07.5612s
212Juan Pablo MontoyaCOLTeam Penske1m07.5627s